Common questions about hunter education
- What is a registration certificate?
A registration certificate is your ticket to enroll in a hunter education, furharvester education or bowhunter education course. The certificate is good for 365 days from the date of purchase.
When you successfully complete a hunter education program course, your instructor will validate your certificate. Your validated hunter education registration certificate enables you to apply for or obtain permits in the DWR's hunt drawings. It is also becomes your small game hunting license.
The validated furharvester education registration certificate enables you to purchase a furbearer permit.
The validated bowhunter education registration certificate enables you to purchase bowhunting licenses in states that require bowhunter education certification.
After completing the course, you will also receive your official "Certificate of Completion" by mail. The card certifies that you passed a hunter education program course. It will be sent to the mailing address listed on your registration certificate.
- How do I enroll in a course?
To enroll, select the course you are interested in from the Hunter Education home page. Follow the instructions until you get to the course schedule page. You will need to purchase a registration certificate before attending a course. The hunter education registration certificate is $10, and the bowhunter and furharvester education registration certificates are $6 each. You can purchase certificates online, from a DWR office or a license agent.
- Where do I find study materials for the online courses?
An online course is available for regular Hunter Education, as well as furharvester and bowhunter education. When you do your field day, you must present proof of course completion to the field day instructor. Click below for more information and to download course materials:
- How old do I have to be to take a course?
There is no minimum age. However, a parent maybe required to attend with younger students. You must be able to take the written and shooting tests by yourself. (We will make accommodations if you have a physical disability.)
- What do I do if I lose or damage my certificate of completion card?
Follow these steps:
- Fill out the Hunter Education duplicate certificate affidavit.
- Submit the form and pay $10 at the online payment portal.
- How do I transfer my out-of-state certificate of completion card to Utah?
Utah residents who have taken hunter education in another state must obtain a transfer blue card. To transfer your out-of-state certificate of completion card, you must be able to provide proof of certification. Proof may consist of one of the following:
- Hard copy proof such as your certification card from the state you completed the education course.
- Verbal verification from your state's hunter education agency.
You will also need to fill out a transfer affidavit form.
Submit the form online, mail it or bring it with your proof of certification to any DWR office.
- I'm an adult. Is hunter education required for me?
Utah state law requires anyone purchasing a Utah hunting license to show proof of completing a hunter education course if they were born after December 31, 1965. The proof may be a hunter education certification card from any state wildlife agency in the United States, Canadian provinces or other country.
Also, when residents have taken the course in another state, Canadian province or other country they must transfer that card to a Utah hunter education card before purchasing a Utah license.
Utah requirements are typical, but not as demanding as some states. Colorado, for example, requires anyone born after 1948 to complete a hunter education course. If you plan on hunting in another state, know and understand the hunter education requirements there.