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This guidebook summarizes Utah’s big 
game hunting laws and rules. Although it 
is a convenient quick-reference document 
for Utah big game regulations, it is not an 
all-encompassing resource. 

For an in-depth look at the state’s big 
game hunting laws and rules, visit wildlife.
utah.gov/rules.

You can use the references in the guide-
book—such as Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-24 
and Utah Code § 23-20-25—to search the 
Division’s website for the detailed statute or 
rule that underpins the guidebook summary.

If you have questions about a particular 
rule, call or visit the nearest Division office.  

Who makes the rules?
The Utah Wildlife Board passes the rules 

and laws summarized in this guidebook. 
There are seven board members, and 

each serves a six-year term. Appointed by 
the governor, board members are not Divi-
sion employees.

The Division’s director serves as the 
board’s executive secretary but does not 
have a vote on wildlife policies.

Before board members make changes to 
wildlife rules, they listen to recommenda-
tions from Division biologists. They also 
receive input from the public and various 
interest groups via the regional advisory 
council (RAC) process.

 If you have feedback or suggestions for 
board members, you can find their contact 
information online at wildlife.utah.gov.

Wildlife Board members

KNOW THE LAWSWHAT’S NEW?
Changes to trail camera regulations: 
The Utah Wildlife Board approved changes to 
the state’s trail camera rules that will affect the 
2022 big game hunting season. You may not use 
any trail camera (or non-handheld device) in 
the take of big game from July 31–Dec. 31. The 
rule also prohibits the sale or purchase of trail 
camera footage used to take—or aid in the take 
of—big game July 31–Dec. 31. The rule applies 
to public and private property. For details, see the 
information box on page 19. 

Night-vision devices: The board also clarified 
rules that prohibit the use of night-vision devices 
to locate or attempt to locate a big game animal 
from 48 hours before any big game hunt in the 
area through 48 hours after any big game hunt 
ends in the area. For details, see the information 
box on page 19, and find definitions on page 
64. 

Research antlerless hunts online: Starting 
May 19, 2022, visit wildlife.utah.gov/guidebooks 
to find all of the information you’ll need to 
research Utah’s antlerless hunts. This information 
includes application dates, rules, hunt tables, 
maps and more. The antlerless application period 
runs from May 26–June 16, 2022. 

Same-species hunts in 2022: You can apply 
for and hunt the following species in the same 
year: doe and buck pronghorn, cow and bull 
moose, and ewe and ram bighorn sheep. See the 
guidelines beginning on page 30 for details. 

2023 big game application timeline: 
In response to public feedback, the DWR is 
changing the big game application timeline for 
2023, which will allow hunters time to evaluate 
proposed big game permit numbers before the 
application period closes. See the information 
box on page 9 for an overview of the new 
timeline. More details will be available at wildlife.
utah.gov/biggame in January 2023.  On the cover: Bison photograph taken by Justin 

Cowan in September 2021 on Antelope Island.

http://wildlife.utah.gov/utip
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Required bison shot placement educa-
tion: Bison hunters must review educational 
information about shot placement for bison 
prior to their hunt. See page 31 for details. 

CWD regulations and surveillance: 
The Division will continue surveillance for 
chronic wasting disease and may be conducting 
randomized checks at various locations. To learn 
more, see page 18 or visit wildlife.utah.gov/
cwd.

Find updated maps, boundaries and 
permit numbers: Use the Utah Hunt Planner 
to find unit permit numbers, maps, boundaries 
and information for your hunts this year. Note: 
Some hunt unit boundaries, names and permit 
numbers have changed this year, including 
boundaries for bison units. Visit wildlife.utah.
gov/huntplanner or see the information box on 
page 13.

Season date changes: Season dates change 
every year, so please check them carefully 
before you head out on your hunt. You can find 
season dates listed on your permit or at wildlife.
utah.gov/huntplanner.

Download and use DWR maps on 
your mobile device: Know where you are 
hunting—even without an internet connec-
tion—using the Avenza Maps™ app. See the 
information box on page 31 for details.

And keep in mind
No baiting allowed: It is unlawful statewide 
to bait big game, take big game in a baited area 
or take big game that has been lured to or is 
traveling from a baited area. See page 50.

Permit sales dates in July: Any permits 
remaining after the big game drawing—and 
all general-season elk permits—will go on sale 
during different days in July. For all of the 
permit sales dates, see page 12.

Child support law: There are restrictions 
on fishing and hunting license purchasers 
for nonpayment of child support. For addi-
tional information—or to arrange a payment 
schedule—please contact the Office of Recovery 
Services at 801-536-8500. 

Ways to report poachers: Use the UTDWR 
law enforcement app or text 847411 to report 
poachers. For more about these and other 
reporting options, see page 30 or visit wildlife.
utah.gov/utip. 

Unlimited any-bull elk permits for youth: 
In 2022, there will be an unlimited number 
of general-season any bull elk permits (any 
legal weapon, muzzleloader and multi-season) 
available to youth hunters. Those permits will be 
available for purchase starting July 14, 2022. For 
more information, see page 17.

Trial hunting program: People who haven’t 
hunted big game may be able to try it for the 
first time without taking Hunter Education. See 
page 10 for more information.

Hunter Mentoring program: The Hunter 
Mentoring program allows a young person to 
share a mentor’s permit. To learn more, see the 
Hunter Mentoring program info box on page 
37 or visit wildlife.utah.gov/mentoring.

Hunting in Salt Lake County: Before you 
hunt deer or elk in Salt Lake County, learn about 
special restrictions. See page 48 for more 
information. 

Mandatory reporting: Many big game 
hunters must report hunt information within 
30 calendar days after the end of the hunting 
season (even if they did not harvest an animal). 
See page 32 for more information or visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/harvestreporting.

Check for closures: There may be late-season 
road closures on federal and state lands. Before 
heading into the field, please check with the 
managing agency for the area you plan to hunt.

Options for military members: Active 
military personnel may be eligible to purchase a 
bonus or preference point if they were deployed 
during the 2022 big game application period. 
For details, see page 33 or visit wildlife.utah.gov/
military.

Stay informed: We will communicate changes 
that may affect you and your hunt via email 
and social media. Visit wildlife.utah.gov/stay-
connected.html to sign up for email updates and 
follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and 
YouTube.  

Discounted licenses for disabled veter-
ans: The Division offers discounted hunting 
and combination licenses to Utah veterans who 
were disabled in the line of duty. For details, see 
page 8.

Change to permit surrender processes: 
If you want to surrender your big game permit, 
you are strongly encouraged to do so at least 
30 days before the season opens to avoid 
losing previously-accrued bonus or prefer-
ence points. For details, see page 39 or visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/refund.

Forfeit preference points for purchase of 
remaining general buck deer permit: If 
you purchase a general-season buck deer permit 
that’s available after the big game drawing in 
2022, you will lose any preference points you’ve 
accrued for general-season buck deer. To learn 
more about purchasing these permits, see page 
39.

Flexibility in using antlerless elk 
permits: If you obtain two antlerless elk 
permits for the same area, but the permits are 
for different seasons, you may harvest both 
elk during the same season. See page 36 for 
more information. 

National parks closed to hunting: All of 
Utah’s national parks and monuments—except 
the Grand Staircase-Escalante and Bears Ears 
national monuments—are closed to hunting.

Review application guidebook: If you 
have questions about the 2022 big game ap-
plication period, hunt drawing or limited-entry 
season dates, please see the 2022 Utah Big 
Game Application Guidebook at wildlife.utah.
gov/guidebooks. That guidebook was printed 
in December 2021 and is a companion to this 
book.

Guidebook corrections: If errors are found 
in this guidebook after it is printed, the Divi-
sion will correct them in the online copy. Visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/guidebooks to view digital 
versions of all the Division’s guidebooks.

Protection from discrimination: The 
Division receives federal financial assistance 
from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. Under 
Title VI of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Section 
504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, Title II 
of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990, 
the Age Discrimination Act of 1975, Title IX of 
the Education Amendments of 1972, the U.S. 
Department of the Interior and its bureaus 
prohibit discrimination on the basis of race, 
color, national origin, age, disability or sex. If 
you believe that you have been discriminated 
against in any program, activity or facility, or 
if you desire further information, please visit 
www.doi.gov/pmb/eeo/public-civil-rights.cfm.

Private lands: The Division cannot guarantee 
access to any private land. Under certain 
circumstances, you must obtain written permis-
sion from the landowner or the landowner’s 
authorized representative before hunting on 
private lands. For more information, please see 
Trespassing on page 49.

Division funding: The Division is mostly 
funded by the sale of hunting and fishing 
licenses and through federal aid made possible 
by an excise tax on the sale of firearms and 
other hunting- and fishing-related equipment.
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CWMU season dates
The Utah Wildlife Board has established 

timeframes for hunting on Cooperative Wildlife 
Management Units (CWMUs). Hunters should 
expect to hunt at least five days for bucks/bulls 
and three days for antlerless big game within 
these timeframes. 

To see the timeframes and learn more 
about the CWMU program, see the article on 
page 41 or visit wildlife.utah.gov/cwmu.

Extended archery  
season dates
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-23

You do not need to apply for an additional 
permit to hunt during the extended archery 
seasons. As long as you obtain an archery deer 
or elk permit in 2022—and you complete the 

General-season dates
Hunt Dates
General archery deer Aug. 20–Sept. 16

General muzzleloader 
deer

Sept. 28–Oct. 6

Early general any legal 
weapon (rifle) deer

Oct. 12–16

General any legal 
weapon (rifle) deer

Oct. 22–30

General archery any 
bull elk

Aug. 20–Sept. 21

General archery spike 
elk

Aug. 20–Sept. 9

General any legal 
weapon (rifle) spike 
and any bull elk

Oct. 8–20

General muzzleloader 
elk

Nov. 2–10

Youth general (rifle) 
any bull elk

Sept. 17–27

2022 SEASON DATES2022 SEASON DATES

required extended archery ethics course—you 
may also hunt any of Utah’s extended archery 
areas during the seasons listed below.

Limited-entry deer and elk archery hunters 
who don’t harvest during the limited-entry 
season will also be allowed to hunt extended 
archery areas.

Note: Handgun-archery-muzzleloader-
shotgun (HAMS) permits are not valid on 
extended archery hunts. 

The online archery ethics course is an 
annual requirement for all archers who want to 
hunt the extended areas and seasons. To take 
the course, visit wildlife.utah.gov/extendedar-
chery before the extended seasons begin. After 
you successfully complete the course, print 
your completion certificate and keep it with 
you while hunting. 

Reminder: If you are hunting in an 
extended archery elk area during the extended 
archery elk season (Aug. 20–Dec. 15), you 
may harvest any bull elk or antlerless elk. 
(This applies even if the extended archery area 
overlaps a spike bull elk unit.) 

Hunt Dates
Extended archery deer 
(either sex) in the following 
extended archery areas:

• Nine Mile, Green River 
Valley

• Pine Valley, New 
Harmony

• Sanpete Valley
• South Wasatch
• Southwest Desert, 

Cedar Valley

Sept. 17–
Oct. 15

Hunt Dates
Turkey on any open unit April 1–May 

31, 2022

Black bear on any open 
unit

During the 
season dates 
listed in the 
2022 Utah 
Black Bear 
Guidebook for 
that unit

Cougar on any open unit 
or any harvest-objective 
unit that has been closed 
after meeting its objective

During the 
season dates 
listed in the 
2022–23 
Utah Cougar 
Guidebook for 
that unit 

* You may not take an elk or Rocky Mountain bighorn 
sheep on the Box Elder, Pilot Mtn hunting unit.   
‡ Antelope Island is not an open unit for statewide 
permits. 
 

License fees 
Resident license fees

License Fee
365-day hunting license 
(age 13 and under)

$11

365-day hunting license 
(ages 14–17)

$16

365-day hunting license 
(ages 18–64)

$34

365-day hunting license 
(age 65 and older)

$25

365-day hunting license 
for disabled veterans 
(see the box on page 8)

$25.50

Multi-year hunting 
license (age 18 and 
older)

$33 per year, up 
to five years

365-day combination*  
license (ages 14–17)

$20

Hunt Dates
Extended archery deer 
(either sex) in the following 
extended archery areas: 

• Box Elder, West Bear 
River (new)

• Herriman South Valley
• Ogden
• Uintah Basin
• Utah Lake
• Wasatch Front
• West Cache

Sept. 17–
Nov. 30

Extended archery elk 
(either sex) in the following 
extended archery areas:

• Uintah Basin
• Wasatch Front
• West Cache

Aug. 20–
Dec. 15

Sportsman 
and statewide 
conservation permit 
season dates

For more information about sportsman per-
mits, see the information box on page 12.

Hunt Dates
Deer, elk and pronghorn 
on any open unit with 
archery equipment*‡

Aug. 20–31, 
2022

Deer and elk on any 
open unit with any legal 
weapon*‡

Sept. 1, 2022–
Jan. 15, 2023

Pronghorn and moose on 
any open unit with any 
legal weapon ‡

Sept. 1–Nov. 
15, 2022

Bighorn sheep and moun-
tain goat on any open unit 
with any legal weapon*‡

Sept. 1–Dec. 
31, 2022

Bison on any open unit 
with any legal weapon‡

Aug. 1, 2022–
Jan. 31, 2023

http://wildlife.utah.gov/extendedarchery
http://wildlife.utah.gov/extendedarchery
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Permit fees
For a complete list of Utah’s license and permit 
fees, visit wildlife.utah.gov/licenses/fees.html. 

Permit Resident Nonres.
General deer $40 $398

General any 
bull elk or 
spike bull elk

$50 $593

Multi-season 
general any 
bull or spike 
bull

$150 $800

Discounted licenses 
for disabled veterans 

The Division offers discounted hunt-
ing and combination licenses to Utah 
servicemembers disabled in the line of 
duty.

The discounted hunting license is 
$25.50, instead of the $34 full price; 
the discounted combination license is 
$28.50, instead of the $38 full price. 
Either license is good for 365 days from 
the day you buy it. 

You must be a Utah resident and 
have a qualifying service-connected 
disability of at least 20 percent. 

Apply for your discounted license 
at wildlife.utah.gov/disabledvet and 
complete the online form, or visit any 
Division office listed on page 2. If you 
need assistance, please call the nearest 
Division office.

If you choose to visit a Division office 
to purchase your license, simply bring 
the verification of service-connected dis-
ability documentation that the Depart-
ment of Veterans Affairs issued to you.

Find additional resources for hunters 
and anglers with disabilities at wildlife.
utah.gov/disabled-access.

Changes to the big 
game application 
timeline in 2023

In response to public feedback, the 
DWR is planning to change the big game 
application timeline for 2023. 

The new timeline will address hunters’ 
concerns about applying for hunts without 
knowing exact permit numbers, and hunt-
ers will be able to evaluate the proposed 
big game permit numbers before the 
application period closes. 

The timing and dates will look 
like this:

• The application period will open for 
hunts, bonus points or preference 
points March 23–April 27, 2023.

• Big game drawing results will be 
posted on May 31, 2023.

• Points-only applications for big game 
will open later (during the antlerless 
application period in June).

Impacts of this change:
• This will allow four weeks from the 

time the application closes to the 
drawing post date. 

• Hunters will have access to the 
proposed permit numbers during the 
application period.

• Hunters will be able to edit their 
applications during the entire ap-
plication period.

These changes will apply to the 2023 
application period and will be fully 
outlined in the 2023 Utah Big Game Ap-
plication Guidebook. 

Don’t lose your hunting and fi shing privileges
If you commit a wildlife violation, you could lose the privilege of hunting and � shing in Utah. 
The Utah Division of Wildlife Resources can suspend the license of 
anyone who knowingly, intentionally or recklessly violates wildlife 
laws. Your license can be suspended for a wildlife violation if:

•  You are convicted. 
•  You plead guilty or no contest.
•  You enter a plea in abeyance or 

diversion agreement. 

Suspension proceedings are separate and indepen-
dent from criminal prosecution.  The Utah Division of 
Wildlife Resources may suspend your license privileges 
whether or not the court considers suspension in your 
criminal case.  You will be noti� ed of any action against 
your privilege after criminal proceedings conclude. And 
remember, if your license is suspended in Utah, you 
may not be permitted to hunt or � sh in most other 
states. (Visit wildlife.utah.gov/know-the-consequences.html to see a map of participating states.)

License Fee
365-day combination* 
license (ages 18–64)

$38

365-day combination* 
license (age 65 and 
older)

$29

365-day combination 
license for disabled 
veterans (see the box on 
page 8)

$28.50

Multi-year combination* 

license (age 18 and 
older)

$37 per year, up 
to five years

* A combination license allows you to hunt or fish in 
Utah. It also allows you to fish with a second pole.

Nonresident license fees
For a complete list of Utah’s license and permit 
fees, visit wildlife.utah.gov/licenses/fees.html.  

License Fee
365-day hunting license 
(age 17 and younger)

$29

365-day hunting license 
(age 18 and older)

$72

Multi-year hunting 
license (age 18 and 
older)

$71 per year, up 
to five years

365-day combination* 
license (age 17 and 
younger) 

$33

365-day combination* 
license (age 18 and 
older)

$98

Multi-year combination* 
license (age 18 and 
older)

$97 per year, up 
to five years

* A combination license allows you to hunt or fish in 
Utah. It also allows you to fish with a second pole.
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Approximately four to six weeks after you 

complete the course, you will receive your blue 
card by mail. 

You should also keep the following in 
mind:

• Hunters who are age 15 and younger 
must be accompanied by an adult while 
hunting.

• All hunting regulations, including season 
dates and bag limits, will apply.

• Hunters who are planning to hunt out 
of state should allow enough time for 
their hunter education card to arrive in 
the mail.

New to Utah?
If you become a Utah resident, and you’ve 

completed a hunter education course in 
another state, province or country, you must 
obtain a Utah blue card before you can buy a 
resident hunting license. You can obtain a Utah 
blue card at any Division office by providing 
proof that you’ve completed a hunter educa-
tion course approved by the Division.

Do you have a license?
Utah Code §§§ 23-19-1, 23-19-22 and 23-20-3 

You must have a current Utah hunting or 
combination (hunting and fishing) license 
before you can apply for any big game permits, 
bonus points or preference points. Licenses are 
available at wildlife.utah.gov and from license 
agents and Division offices.

As long as your license was valid on the 
date you submitted your big game permit 

How to take hunter 
education

To get started, you should visit wildlife.
utah.gov/huntereducation. You’ll see links to 
various traditional and online hunter education 
course options. Follow the instructions on the 
website to obtain a hunter education registra-
tion certificate (required) and to register for a 
course online.

If you need assistance, please contact your 
local Division office or call 801-538-4727.

When you finish the course, your instructor 
will verify your course completion in the online 
hunter education system. At that point, you 
will be able to apply for or obtain permits in 
the Division’s hunt drawing, and your hunter 
education registration certificate will become 
your hunting license.  

Residency
Utah Code §§ 23-13-2(37) & 23-13-2(13)

Before you apply for a big game 
hunt, it’s important to know whether you 
are a legal resident of the state of Utah. 
See the definition of Resident on page 66 
to determine whether you are a resident 
or a nonresident.

Keep your license on 
your phone or tablet

We’ve made it easier for you to keep 
track of your hunting or combination 
license and know when it’s about to 
expire. 

With our convenient mobile app, 
you can now download your license to a 
smartphone or tablet.  

If a conservation officer asks to see 
your license, you can produce the digital 
copy, which is just as valid as a paper 
license. 

If you use the app, you will be able to 
easily see when your license expires. 

The app is available for both Apple 
and Android devices. You can download 
it at wildlife.utah.gov/mobileapp.

Please remember that licenses are 
different from permits. If you have a 
permit for a big game or antlerless hunt, 
you must carry it with you while hunting.

BASIC REQUIREMENTS
Are you planning to hunt big game in Utah this year? Before you apply for or obtain a per-
mit, make sure you meet Utah’s age, hunter education, license and permit requirements. 

Adults must accompany young hunt-
ers
Utah Code § 23-20-20

While hunting big game, a person under 
16 years old must be accompanied by his or 
her parent, legal guardian or other responsible 
person who is 21 years of age or older and who 
has been approved by the parent or guardian. 

The Division encourages adults to be 
familiar with hunter education guidelines or to 
complete the hunter education course before 
accompanying youth into the field. 

While in the field, the youth and the adult 
must remain close enough for the adult to see 
and provide verbal assistance to the young 
hunter. Using electronic devices, such as 
walkie-talkies or cell phones, does not meet 
this requirement.

Have you passed 
hunter education?
Utah Code § 23-19-11 & Utah Admin. Rule R657-23 

If you were born after Dec. 31, 1965, you 
must provide proof that you’ve passed a hunter 
education course approved by the Division 
before you can apply for or obtain a hunting 
license or a big game permit.

The only exception to this law is for indi-
viduals who are participating in the Division’s 
Trial Hunting Program. You can find details 
about the program in the information box to 
the left or by visiting wildlife.utah.gov/trial.

Proof of hunter education
You can prove that you’ve completed 

hunter education by obtaining a hunter educa-
tion card (called a “blue card” in Utah) or if you 
have a verified hunter education number on 
file with the Division. The number is assigned 
when you complete hunter education and your 
blue card is issued.

Are you old enough?
Utah Code § 23-19-22

To hunt big game in Utah, you must be at 
least 12 years old. 

If you are least 11 years old, you can apply 
for or obtain any big game permits for which 
you are eligible, including limited-entry and 
once-in-a-lifetime permits. Any 11-year-olds 
who apply must be 12 by Dec. 31, 2022. 

Remember: You cannot hunt until 
you are 12 years old.

If you’re younger than 18, you can apply 
to participate in the Utah Hunter Mentoring 
Program. For details on the program, see the 
box on page 37 or visit wildlife.utah.gov/
mentoring.

If you’re 12 years old or older, you can also 
participate in the Trial Hunting Program. For 
details, see the box below.

Utah’s Trial Hunting 
Program
Utah Admin. Rule R657-68

Have you ever wanted to bring your 
spouse, child or friend along on a hunt 
and give them a chance to try hunting? 
Now, they can join you on your next big 
game hunt.

Utah’s Trial Hunting Program allows 
anyone age 12 or older to try hunting for 
a few years—while accompanied by a 
licensed hunter age 21 or older—before 
taking a Hunter Education course.

The program applies to hunts 
for many different species, including 
general-season deer and elk. To sign up 
for the program or to learn more about 
it, visit wildlife.utah.gov/trial.

http://wildlife.utah.gov
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APPLY FOR AN ANTLERLESS PERMIT

June 16: Deadline for antlerless 
permit applications

You must apply online or by phone no 
later than June 16, 2022. There’s an 11 p.m. 
MDT deadline for online applications and a 5 
p.m. MDT deadline for phone applications. To 
apply, simply visit wildlife.utah.gov or call any 
Division office. 

July 7: Antlerless drawing results 
available 

You’ll be notified of your drawing results 
by email on or before July 7, 2022. You can also 
learn your drawing results by visiting wildlife.
utah.gov or by calling 1-800-221-0659. 

Looking for Utah’s antlerless field regula-
tions? You’ll find them in this guidebook (see 
page 35). 

If you’re looking for the information you 
need in order to apply for antlerless hunts, 
please visit wildlife.utah.gov/guidebooks, start-
ing May 19, 2022. There, you’ll find application 
dates, rules, hunt tables, maps, boundaries and 
other essential information. 

If you are planning to apply for a 2022 ant-
lerless permit, please be aware of the following 
dates and deadlines.

May 19: Review online antlerless hunt 
resources

Beginning May 19, 2022, you can visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/guidebooks to review all of 
the application rules, hunt tables, season dates, 
maps, boundaries and other information you’ll 
need in order to apply for an antlerless permit.

The antlerless application information will 
be available online only—there will not be a 
separate printed Antlerless guidebook.

If you do not have access to the internet, 
please visit or call a Division office. 

May 26: Apply online for an antlerless 
permit

Starting May 26, 2022, you can visit wildlife.
utah.gov to apply for the following items:

• Antlerless hunting permits
• An antlerless moose permit or bonus 

point
• A ewe bighorn sheep permit or bonus 

point 
• Antlerless preference points

You can also apply by calling any Division 
office.

Boundary descriptions 
only available online

You’ll find detailed maps and bound-
ary descriptions online for all hunting 
units. 

Visit wildlife.utah.gov/huntplanner 
to download and print your boundaries 
today.

You also have the option of using the 
Utah Hunting and Fishing app to view the 
boundaries of any permits you’ve drawn. 
Visit wildlife.utah.gov/mobileapp to 
download the app. 

DWR maps are also viewable on your 
mobile device using the Avenza Maps™ 
app. See the box on page 31 for more 
details. 

Do you have a permit?
Utah Admin. Rule R657-62-18 

To participate in any of Utah’s big game or 
antlerless hunts, you need to obtain a hunting 
permit. 

Most of the big game permits have already 
been issued through the big game drawing, 
but some will be available for over-the-counter 
purchase in July 2022:

• July 12: General-season archery elk 
permits (adults and youth)

• July 12: Remaining limited-entry big 
game permits, if available

• July 12: Over-the-counter bison permits 
for the Nine Mile unit (see page 32 for 
details)

• July 14: General-season any bull elk 
permits (adults and unlimited permits 
for youth)

• July 19: Remaining general-season deer 
permits, if available (also youth archery 
deer permits)

• July 21: All antlerless permits, if avail-
able

• July 26: General-season spike bull elk 
permits (adults and youth)

 For more information about July permit 
sales, see the article on page 14.

Many of Utah’s antlerless permits will be 
issued through the antlerless drawing. You can 
apply for those permits from May 26–June 16, 
2022. For more information about application 
deadlines and how to apply for antlerless 
permits, see page 13.

For details about license, permit and ap-
plication fees, see page 7 or visit wildlife.utah.
gov/licenses/fees.html. 

Carry your permit
If you are successful in obtaining a big 

game or antlerless permit, you must have it on 
your person while hunting. You cannot alter 
your license or permit, nor can you sell, transfer 
or loan either of them to another person.

application, you don’t have to purchase a new 
license for the actual hunt. 

For example, assume that your license 
expires on June 22, 2022. If you applied for 
permits on Feb. 28, 2022, then you do not 
have to purchase a new license for your hunt 
in the fall. 

Reminder: There are restrictions on 
fishing and hunting license purchasers for 
nonpayment of child support. For additional 
information, contact the Office of Recovery 
Services at 801-536-8500. 

Please keep in mind that Utah hunting 
and combination licenses are valid for 365 
days from the date of purchase. You also have 
the option of purchasing a multi-year license 
that’s valid for up to five years.

For details about license, permit and ap-
plication fees, see page 7 or visit wildlife.utah.
gov/licenses/fees.html.

When to apply for a 
sportsman permit

Long season dates—and the ability 
to hunt almost every hunting unit in 
Utah—make sportsman permits the 
most sought-after permits offered to 
Utah’s public hunters. 

The application period for 2023 will 
run from Oct. 19 to Nov. 9, 2022. Only 
Utah residents can apply for sportsman 
permits.

For more information about these 
permits, and the few restrictions that 
apply, please visit wildlife.utah.gov in 
mid-October 2022.

wildlife.utah.gov
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you may use one, please visit wildlife.utah.
gov/antlerless-elk-control.html. To learn more 
about Utah’s antlerless elk-control units, see 
the map on page 62 and visit wildlife.utah.gov/
huntplanner.

Reminder: If you obtain a general-
season antlerless elk permit over the counter 
(after the antlerless drawing) or a private-
lands-only permit, you will lose any preference 
points you’ve previously accrued for antlerless 
elk. However, if you purchase an antlerless 
elk-control permit, you will not lose any pref-
erence points you’ve accrued for antlerless elk.

July 26: General-season spike bull elk 
permits (adults and youth)

All general-season spike bull elk per-
mits—including the multi-season general 
spike bull elk permits—will be available 
beginning July 26, 2022. Visit wildlife.utah.

July 21: Remaining antlerless permits 
and all other antlerless elk permits 

Any antlerless permits remaining after 
the drawing—as well as private-lands-only 
and antlerless elk-control permits—will be 
available beginning July 21, 2022. Visit wildlife.
utah.gov/guidebooks starting in early June to 
learn more about antlerless permits and to see 
purchase times and locations.

Remaining antlerless permits are available 
on a first-come, first-served basis. You must 
have a valid hunting license or a combination 
license to buy one of these permits.

Under certain circumstances, you must 
obtain written permission before you can use 
a private-lands-only antlerless elk permit. For 
details, see wildlife.utah.gov/private-lands-
only-permits.html. 

For detailed information about how 
antlerless elk-control permits work and when 

Some big game permits for the 2022 
season will be available in July. You can find 
the sales dates listed below. 

Please keep in mind that you may only 
have one buck deer permit and one bull elk 
permit per year. 

See the table on page 8 for a partial list of 
permit fees or visit wildlife.utah.gov/licenses/
fees.html for a complete list. 

A list of remaining big game permits will 
be posted at wildlife.utah.gov/remaining-
permits.html by May 31 at the latest.

You must have a valid hunting license 
or a combination license to buy one of these 
permits. A license agent list is available at 
wildlife.utah.gov/licenseagents. Before you visit 
any of the agents, contact them to verify their 
hours of operation.

July 12: General-season archery elk 
permits (adults and youth)

All general-season archery elk permits 
will be available beginning July 12, 2022. Visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/biggame in early June to see 
purchase times and locations.

General-season archery elk permits—for 
both adults and youth—are unlimited. You 
must have a valid hunting license or a combi-
nation license to buy one of these permits. 

July 12: Remaining limited-entry per-
mits (if available) and bison permits

Any limited-entry permits remaining 
after the big game drawing will be available 
beginning July 12, 2022. Visit wildlife.utah.
gov/biggame in early June to see a list of 
remaining permits as well as purchase times 
and locations.

All remaining permits are available on a 
first-come, first-served basis. You must have a 
valid hunting license or a combination license 
to buy one of these permits.

July 12 is also the date that over-the-
counter bison permits for the Nine Mile unit 
will be available. See page 32 for details 
about this hunt.

July 14: General-season any bull elk 
permits (adults and youth)

All general-season any bull elk permits—
including the multi-season general any bull elk 
permits—will be available beginning July 14, 
2022. Visit wildlife.utah.gov/biggame in early 
June to see purchase times and locations. 

All general-season any bull elk permits 
(muzzleloader and any legal weapon) are 
available on a first-come, first-served basis. 
For additional information on multi-season 
general elk permits, see page 27.

You must have a valid hunting license or a 
combination license to buy a general-season 
bull elk permit of any kind. 

Note: General-season any bull elk permits 
are unlimited for youth. 

July 19: Remaining general-season 
buck deer permits, if available (also 
youth archery deer permits) 

Any general-season buck deer permits 
remaining after the drawing—as well as 
youth archery deer permits—will be available 
beginning July 19, 2022. Visit wildlife.utah.
gov/biggame in early June to see purchase 
times and locations.

All permits are available on a first-come, 
first-served basis. You must have a valid hunt-
ing license or a combination license to buy one 
of these permits.

Reminder: If you obtain a general-
season buck deer permit over the counter 
(after the big game drawing), you will lose any 
preference points you’ve previously accrued for 
buck deer. However, a youth who purchases a 
youth archery deer permit will not lose any 
preference points they’ve accrued for general-
season buck deer.  

WHEN PERMITS GO ON SALE Obtain up to three elk 
permits
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-33

A hunter can obtain up to three elk 
permits in Utah each year. 

• A maximum of one permit can be for 
a bull elk.

• A maximum of one antlerless elk 
permit can be obtained through the 
antlerless drawing.

• A maximum of two antlerless elk 
permits can be obtained over the 
counter. These might include antlerless 
elk-control permits, private-lands-
only permits, mitigation and CWMU 
vouchers or any permits that remain 
available after the antlerless drawing.

For the purposes of obtaining multiple 
elk permits, an archery elk permit (hunter’s 
choice) is considered a bull elk permit. Like-
wise, general-season archery permits are 
also considered bull elk permits. Antlerless 
elk-control or private-lands-only permits are 

considered antlerless permits. 
If you obtain two antlerless elk permits 

for the same area—but the permits are for 
different seasons—you may harvest both 
elk during the same season.

And don’t forget: you may harvest an 
antlerless elk while hunting general-season 
buck deer or bull elk, as long as your permits 
are for the same area and you use the 
weapon type listed on your general-season 
permit.

General-season bull elk permits will be 
sold in July. See page 14 for the different 
sales dates, and then visit wildlife.utah.gov 
in early June to see exact purchase times 
and locations. 

Any remaining antlerless elk permits—
and both the private-lands-only and antler-
less elk-control permits—will be available 
on July 21. Visit wildlife.utah.gov/guidebooks 
starting in early June to learn more about 
antlerless permits and to see purchase times 
and locations. 
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MORE OPPORTUNITY FOR YOUNG 
HUNTERS
If you are 17 years old or younger on July 31, 2022, you may have more opportunities to 
hunt this fall. It all depends on what type of permit you obtain.

permit, you may hunt only during the general 
archery deer season and the extended archery 
deer season. 

During the general archery deer sea-
son—which runs from Aug. 20–Sept. 16, 
2022—you may hunt in the unit printed on 
your permit. 

During the extended archery deer season, 
you may hunt in any of the extended archery 
areas after completing the online archery 
ethics course. For more information on the 
extended archery hunt, or to take the course, 
visit wildlife.utah.gov/extendedarchery.

Additional youth archery deer permits 
will be available beginning July 19, 2022. Visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/biggame in early June to see 
purchase times and locations.

Important: Youth who purchase these 
additional youth archery deer permits will not 
lose any preference points they’ve accrued for 
general-season buck deer. 

The Utah Wildlife Board approved an 
additional 20 percent of the archery quota for 
each unit to provide additional permits and 
opportunity for young archers.

For more information, please call the near-
est Division office.

General-season elk permits
In 2022, there will be an unlimited number 

of general-season any bull elk permits (any 
legal weapon, muzzleloader or multi-season) 
available for youth who will be 17 years of age 
or younger on July 31, 2022. 

These permits are not for the youth 
any bull elk hunt that runs from Sept. 
17–27, 2022.  (Youth had to draw a permit 
in the big game drawing for that hunt.)

Visit wildlife.utah.gov/biggame in early 
June to see purchase times and locations.

Any legal weapon deer permits
If you are a youth and you obtain a 

general-season any legal weapon deer permit, 
you may hunt buck deer during the general 
deer seasons—in the unit listed on your 
permit—until you either harvest an animal or 
the season ends. 

First, you may use archery tackle to archery 
hunt the unit listed on your permit from Aug. 
20–Sept. 16, 2022. 

If you haven’t harvested a deer by the time 
the archery season ends, you may hunt the 
same unit during the general muzzleloader 
and general any legal weapon deer seasons—
including the early-season hunt, if it’s 
offered on your unit—using the appropri-
ate equipment. (See the table on page 16 for 
details.) 

You also have the option of hunting in 
the extended archery areas, starting Sept. 17, 
2022. To do so, you must complete the archery 
ethics course available at wildlife.utah.gov/
extendedarchery, carry your course-completion 
certificate in the field and use the appropriate 
archery tackle. For more information on the 
extended archery hunt, visit wildlife.utah.gov/
extendedarchery.

Muzzleloader deer permits
If you obtain a general-season muzzle-

loader deer permit, you may hunt only during 
the general muzzleloader season, which runs 
from Sept. 28–Oct. 6, 2022. You must use 
muzzleloader equipment and hunt the unit 
listed on your permit. You may not hunt during 
the general archery or any legal weapon 
seasons. 

Archery deer permits
If you obtain a general-season archery deer 

Definition of youth
For the purposes of big game hunt-

ing, a youth is someone who is 17 years 
old or younger on July 31 of any given 
year. 

This year, you will be considered a 
youth if you are 17 years old or younger 
on July 31, 2022.

gov/biggame in early June to see purchase 
times and locations. 

All general-season spike bull elk permits 
(muzzleloader and any legal weapon) are 
available on a first-come, first-served basis. 
For additional information on multi-season 
general elk permits, see page 27.

You must have a valid hunting license or a 
combination license to buy a general-season 
bull elk permit of any kind. 

Youth early any legal 
weapon buck deer 
permit (Oct. 12–16, 2022)

Youth any legal weapon 
buck deer permit 
(Oct. 22–30, 2022)

Archery season 
(Aug. 20–Sept. 16, 2022)

May hunt on your unit with 
archery equipment.

May hunt on your unit with 
archery equipment.

Muzzleloader season 
(Sept. 28–Oct. 6, 2022)

May hunt on your unit with 
muzzleloader equipment.

May hunt on your unit with 
muzzleloader equipment.

Early any  
legal weapon season 

(Oct. 12–16, 2022)

May hunt on your unit with any 
legal weapon.

May hunt with any legal 
weapon if your unit offers the 
early season.*

Any legal weapon season 
(Oct. 22–30, 2022)

May hunt on your unit with any 
legal weapon.

May hunt on your unit with any 
legal weapon.

Extended archery seasons
May hunt the extended 
archery areas with archery 
equipment.^

May hunt the extended 
archery areas with archery 
equipment.^

Which seasons can youth hunt?

*Units with early-season any legal weapon buck deer hunts: Chalk Creek/East Canyon/Morgan-South Rich; Fillmore; 
Kamas; Nine Mile; North Slope; Panguitch Lake; Pine Valley; Plateau, Fishlake; and Zion. 
^For information about extended archery hunting and the required ethics course, see page 6.
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Chronic wasting disease (CWD) is a seri-
ous—but relatively rare—disease that attacks 
the nervous system and brain of infected deer, 
elk and moose.

The Division has been monitoring for CWD 
since 1998. In that time, 152 mule deer and 
three elk have tested positive for CWD in Utah.

The Division conducts CWD surveillance in 
Utah’s deer hunt units on a rotational basis. This 
fall, the Division will be conducting CWD surveil-

CHECKING FOR CHRONIC WASTING 
DISEASE

lance in the following units:
• Chalk Creek
• East Canyon
• Kamas
• La Sal
• Morgan-South Rich
• Nine Mile
• North Slope
• Panguitch Lake
• Paunsaugunt
• Pine Valley
• San Juan
• South Slope
• Wasatch Mountains
• Zion

If you harvest a deer in one of the above units 
this fall, please take a few minutes to stop by a 
Division check station. (The exact locations of the 
CWD check stations will be posted at wildlife.utah.
gov/cwd closer to the 2022 hunting season.)

At the check station, we will assess the age of 
your deer, collect some biological information and 
take a small tissue sample to test for CWD. 

You can find the results online within six 
to eight weeks at wildlife.utah.gov/cwdtesting. 
If your animal tests positive for CWD, we will 
contact you directly.

To learn more about CWD, the testing process 
and precautions you can take, please visit wildlife.
utah.gov/cwd. 

Random, mandatory 
testing
 Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-43

Random, mandatory testing for deer 
harvested on certain hunting units will continue 
during the 2022 hunting season. 

We will use email and our social media chan-
nels to share more information about this process 
closer to hunting season. Visit wildlife.utah.gov/
stay-connected.html to sign up for email updates 
and to follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram 
and YouTube.

New changes to trail 
camera and night-vision 
device rules for 2022 
hunts 

Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-7 

At the direction of the Utah Legislature, 
the Utah Wildlife Board approved changes 
to the state’s trail camera rules, which will 
be in effect from July 31 to Dec. 31. 

What are the trail camera regula-
tions in Utah? 

• You may not use any trail camera (or 
non-handheld device) in the take of 
big game, cougars or bears—or to 
aid in the take of big game, cougars 
or bears—between July 31 and Dec. 
31. 

• The rule applies to public and private 
property. 

• The rule prohibits the sale or purchase 
of footage or data from any trail 
camera (or non-handheld device) 
that could be used to take, attempt to 
take, or aid in the take or attempted 
take of big game, cougars or bears. 
That includes images or video, loca-
tion information, time and date of the 
footage and any other data that could 
aid in the harvest or attempted take 
of big game, cougars or bears.

• This rule applies to transmitting and 
non-transmitting trail cameras. 

The seasonal restrictions on trail 
camera use do not apply to:

• Private landowners who are monitor-
ing their property for trespass

• Private landowners monitoring active 
agricultural operations

• Agricultural producers harvesting 
bears or cougars that have killed 
livestock

• Government or educational organiza-
tions gathering wildlife information

• Cities involved in the Urban Deer 
Program

• Cameras used purely for recreational 
activities that are not associated with 
hunting in any way

What should I do if I see a trail 
camera in use during the seasonal 
closure?

Leave it alone and contact our conser-
vation officers with the camera coordinates 
if you have concerns that someone is using 
it for hunting purposes. Do not attempt 
to remove or damage the camera—it’s 
someone else’s property and may be in use 
legally.

Visit wildlife.utah.gov/trailcams for 
more details about these rules. 

Learn more about these and other 
prohibited hunting methods on pages 
50-52, and see page 64 of this 
guidebook for technology definitions. 

What are the rules for night-
vision devices?

• The rule prohibits the use of any 
night-vision device to locate or 
attempt to locate a big game animal 
from 48 hours before any big game 
hunt in the area through 48 hours 
after any big game hunt ends in the 
area. 

• A night-vision device is defined as 
anything that enhances visible and 
non-visible light and includes the use 
of night-vision devices, thermal-
imaging devices, infrared-imaged 
devices and other electronic devices 
that enhance the visible and non-
visible light spectrum. 

• A trail camera is not a night-vision 
device. 

Poaching-reported 
reward permits
Utah Admin. Rule R657-51

It pays to report big game poachers 
in Utah. 

If you provide information that 
leads to the successful prosecution of 
another person for the wanton destruc-
tion (poaching) of any big game species, 
you may receive a permit to hunt the 
same species on the same area where the 
violation occurred. 

This program applies to once-in-a-
lifetime animals as well as limited-entry 
and general-season buck deer and bull 
elk. 

To turn in a poacher, you can use any 
of the methods listed at wildlife.utah.
gov/utip: 

• Call our hotline: 1-800-662-3337
• Submit a tip through the UTDWR 

law enforcement app
• Text DWR conservation officers at 

847411
• Submit an online report at wildlife.

utah.gov/utip
For details about this reward permit 

program, please visit wildlife.utah.gov/
earn-a-reward.html or see Utah Admin. 
Rule R657-51 at wildlife.utah.gov/rules.
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General-season buck 
deer hunts

Utah has four general-season buck deer 
hunts: 

• Archery hunt
• Muzzleloader hunt
• Early any legal weapon (rifle) hunt 
• Any legal weapon (rifle) hunt 

Please see wildlife.utah.gov/huntplanner 
for all hunt boundaries.

General-season archery 
buck deer hunt
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-23

Utah’s general-season archery buck deer 
hunt runs from Aug. 20–Sept. 16, 2022. 

If you obtained a general-season archery 
buck deer permit, you may use archery equip-
ment to take one buck deer within the hunting 
unit and season dates listed on your permit. 

Extended archery deer hunts
If you haven’t taken a deer by the time 

your archery buck hunt ends, you can continue 
your archery hunting in the state’s extended 
archery areas.

In the Nine Mile, Green River Valley; Pine 
Valley, New Harmony; Sanpete Valley and 
South Wasatch extended archery areas, you 
may use archery equipment to take a deer of 
either sex (hunter’s choice) from Sept. 17–Oct. 
15, 2022.

In the Box Elder, West Bear River (new); 
Herriman South Valley; Ogden; Southwest 
Desert, Cedar Valley; Uintah Basin; Utah Lake; 
Wasatch Front and West Cache extended 
archery areas, you may use archery equipment 
to take a deer of either sex (hunter’s choice)
from Sept. 17–Nov. 30, 2022.

Buck deer hunting

The following regulations apply to all of 
Utah’s buck deer hunts. 

 Hunter orange
Utah Code § 23-20-31

You are required to obey Utah’s hunter 
orange laws, unless your hunt is among the 
exceptions. For example, archery and muzzle-
loader general-season deer hunters are not 
required to wear hunter orange unless the other 
hunts occurring in the area are for general-
season any legal weapon buck deer or bull elk. 
For additional details, see page 43. 

Special restrictions
If you participate in Utah’s buck deer hunt, 

please keep in mind that some areas are closed 
to hunting or have special restrictions. For a list 
of those areas, see page 48.

Obtaining other deer permits
If you obtained a buck deer permit of any 

kind, the only other deer permit you can obtain 
is an antlerless deer permit. Please see page 35 
for more information on antlerless deer hunts.

A “buck deer” is a deer with antlers that are longer 
than five inches (R657-5-2(2)(e)).

BIG GAME HUNTS
Utah offers several different big game hunts each year. Depending on the permit you ob-
tain, you could hunt deer, elk, pronghorn, bison, bighorn sheep, moose or mountain goat. 
The following section describes the species you can hunt, the weapons you can use and the 
types of permits that are available.

Before hunting any of the extended 
archery areas, you must complete the Division’s 
archery ethics course. For more information, 
see page 6 or visit wildlife.utah.gov/extend-
edarchery.

General-season 
muzzleloader buck deer 
hunt
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-25

Utah’s general-season muzzleloader buck 
deer hunt runs from Sept. 28–Oct. 6, 2022. 

If you obtained a general-season muzzle-
loader buck permit, you may use a muzzle-
loader to take one buck deer in the hunting 
unit listed on your permit.

Early general-season buck 
deer hunts

For 2022, the Utah Wildlife Board approved 
early general-season any weapon buck deer 
hunts on the following general-season buck 
deer units: 

• Chalk Creek/East Canyon/Morgan-South 
Rich

• Fillmore
• Kamas

• Nine Mile*
• North Slope 
• Panguitch Lake 
• Pine Valley
• Plateau, Fishlake
• Zion

These hunts will run from Oct. 12–16, 
2022. The goal of these hunts is to reduce 
crowding and give hunters the opportunity to 
hunt deer and general-season elk at the same 
time.  
*In the general season, a portion of the South Slope, 
Myton unit is part of this unit. For details see wildlife.
utah.gov/huntplanner. 

General-season any legal 
weapon (rifle) buck deer 
hunt
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-24

The general-season any legal weapon (rifle) 
buck deer hunt runs from Oct. 22–30, 2022.

If you obtained a general-season any legal 
weapon buck permit, you may use any legal 
weapon to take one buck deer in the hunting 
unit listed on your permit. You may also choose 
to use a crossbow, an airgun, a draw lock or a 
muzzleloader.   

Mandatory reporting
If you obtained a premium limited-

entry, limited-entry, management buck 
deer, cactus buck deer, CWMU, conserva-
tion, sportsman, expo or once-in-a-lifetime 
permit, you must complete a harvest survey 
questionnaire within 30 days after your 
hunt ends. This information is required even 
if you didn’t harvest an animal. 

Attention limited-entry archers: 
Although you do not need to submit a 
survey for the extended archery season, you 
must submit your limited-entry harvest sur-
vey within 30 days of the final day of your 
limited-entry season. 

If you harvested an animal, this is also 
an ideal time to return your tooth packet. 
Returning your tooth packet does not fulfill 
the harvest survey requirement. 

You can report information about your 
hunt at wildlife.utah.gov/harvest or by call-
ing 1-800-221-0659.

Reporting your hunt information is 
important. If you don’t report your hunt 
information within 30 days of the end of the 
hunt, you won’t be allowed to apply for a 
once-in-a-lifetime, premium limited-entry, 
limited-entry, management buck deer or 
CWMU permits, or bonus points in 2023.
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weapon) on select limited-entry or premium 
limited-entry units. 

If you have obtained a permit for one of 
these hunts, you must use the appropriate 
weapon type for the season.   

Handgun-archery-
muzzleloader-shotgun-
only (HAMS) buck deer 
hunts
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-48

For 2022, the Utah Wildlife Board approved 
three handgun-archery-muzzleloader-shot-
gun-only (HAMS) hunts for buck deer. These 
hunts will occur from Nov. 12–27, 2022 and 
are considered limited-entry hunts. 

If you obtained a permit for one of these 
hunts, you may take one buck deer in the 
season and unit identified on your permit.

The 2022 HAMS hunts will take place in the 
following units:

• Book Cliffs, Floy Canyon
• Kaiparowits HAMS
• Morgan-South Rich

Note: HAMS permits are not valid on 
extended archery hunts.

Important: You may not use scopes or 
other optics on any weapons during this hunt. 
You may only use the following weapons on a 
handgun-archery-muzzleloader-shotgun-only 
hunt:

Handgun
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-9 & R657-5-48 

The handgun you use must be legal for 
buck deer, with no attached scope. (See the 
Firearms and archery equipment section that 
begins on page 43.) The handgun must also:

• Have no more than a single barrel 15 
inches or less in length, including the 
chamber

• Have a single rear handgrip without 
any form of any of the following:

• A fixed, detachable or collapsible 
buttstock

Premium limited-
entry and limited-
entry buck deer hunts
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-26

Utah’s premium limited-entry and limited-
entry deer units are managed for older, bigger 
bucks.

A premium limited-entry buck deer permit 
allows you to hunt on one of the best limited-
entry buck deer units in Utah—the Henry 
Mtns unit or the Paunsaugunt unit.

A limited-entry buck deer permit allows 
you to hunt on a high-quality unit that is 
managed for a higher buck-to-doe ratio than 
general-season units are managed for.

If you obtained a premium limited-entry 
or limited-entry buck deer permit, you may 
use the weapon listed on your permit to take 
one buck deer within the area and the season 
specified on your permit.  

Late-season muzzleloader 
deer hunts

For 2022, the Utah Wildlife Board approved 
late-season, limited-entry muzzleloader deer 
hunts on all general-season buck deer units.  

These hunts will occur at the same time as 
the general muzzleloader elk hunt, running 
from Nov. 2–10, 2022.

Important: If you are successful in 
obtaining a permit for one of these hunts, you 
will lose your bonus points and incur a waiting 
period of five years.

New this year: A new late-season, 
limited-entry muzzleloader deer hunt was 
approved in the South Slope, Myton unit from 
Nov. 12–27. This hunt will primarily be held on 
private property to help control the prevalence 
of chronic wasting disease in this area. 

Multi-season hunts
Multi-season hunts allow the permit 

holder to hunt buck deer during all three 
seasons (archery, muzzleloader and any legal 

Plan on sharing the 
mountain 

As much as you’d like to have Utah’s 
backcountry to yourself, you share it 
with campers, hikers, photographers and 
other hunters. Some of those hunters are 
after big game—just like you—while 
others are pursuing black bear, forest 
grouse and other species. 

Everyone shares the landscape, so 
please be patient and considerate when 
encountering others on public land.  

will be allowed to hunt the extended archery 
areas after completing the online extended 
archery course. For details, see page 6 or visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/extendedarchery.

And don’t forget: You must submit your 
harvest survey within 30 days of the final day 
of your limited-entry season. You do not need 
to submit a survey for the extended archery 
season. 

Management and cactus 
buck deer hunts
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-46

A “management buck” is a buck deer with 
3 points or less on at least one antler, above 
and including the first fork, but not including 
the eye guard. The eye guard does not count 
as a point. A point is a projection that’s longer 
than one inch, measured from its base to its 
tip, including damaged or broken antlers.

Obtaining and using a management 
buck deer permit

Management buck deer permits are 
distributed through the big game drawing 
process. If you were successful in drawing a 
management buck deer permit, you must 
complete an online orientation course before 
you will receive your permit. This course is 
also open to anyone who wants to learn more 
about what a management buck looks like. To 
take the online course, visit wildlife.utah.gov/
biggame.

A management buck deer permit allows 
you to take one management buck deer. You 
must use the weapon listed on your permit to 
hunt within the unit and season specified on 
your permit. 

After taking your buck deer, you must 
bring its head and antlers to a Division office 
for inspection no later than 72 hours after the 
date of kill.

Please keep in mind that bringing your 
deer to a Division office does not meet your 

• An apparatus or extension behind 
the rear grip that’s capable of 
being used to steady the handgun 
against the body while firing

• A vertical foregrip
Finally, the handgun can be no more than 

24 inches in overall length.

Archery equipment
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-11

The archery equipment you use must be le-
gal for buck deer. (See the Firearms and archery 
equipment section that begins on page 43.)

Muzzleloader
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-10

The muzzleloader you use must be legal 
for buck deer, with no attached scope. (See the 
Firearms and archery equipment section that 
begins on page 43.)

Shotgun
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-8

The shotgun you use must be legal for buck 
deer, with no attached scope. (See the Firearms 
and archery equipment section that begins on 
page 43.)

More opportunity for 
archers

Limited-entry archery deer hunters who 
don’t harvest during the limited-entry season 
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Bull elk hunting

A “bull elk” is an elk with antlers that are longer than 
five inches (R657-5-2(2)(g)). 
A “spike bull” means a bull elk which has at least 
one antler beam with no branching above the ears. 
Branched means a projection on an antler longer than 
one inch, measured from its base to its tip (R657-5-
2(2)(r).

harvest survey requirement. Visit wildlife.utah.
gov/harvest and complete the harvest survey 
questionnaire within 30 days after the end of 
your hunt. 

Important: If you obtained a manage-
ment buck deer permit, that is the only buck 
deer permit you may obtain for the 2022 
season. You will lose your bonus points and 
incur a waiting period of five years.   

Obtaining and using a cactus buck 
deer permit
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-47

A “cactus buck” is one that still has velvet 
covering at least 50 percent of his antlers dur-
ing the season dates set by the Wildlife Board.  

There are quite a few cactus bucks on the 
Paunsaugunt unit and the Alton CWMU, and 
they have unique antler growth that many 
hunters find fascinating.

Cactus buck deer permits are distributed 
through the big game drawing process. If you 
drew a cactus buck permit, you may take one 
cactus buck deer during the season, in the 
area, and with the weapon type specified on 
the permit. 

Important: If you obtained a cactus buck 
deer permit, that is the only buck deer permit 
you may obtain for the 2022 season. You will 
lose your bonus points and incur a waiting 
period of five years.

If you drew a cactus buck permit, you 
must also complete a mandatory harvest 
survey once your hunt ends, even if you did 
not harvest. Visit wildlife.utah.gov/harvest and 
complete the harvest survey questionnaire 
within 30 days after the end of your hunt.

If you successfully harvest a cactus buck, 
you must bring its head and antlers to a Divi-
sion office for inspection no later than 72 hours 
after the date of kill.

If the buck you harvested does not meet 
the definition of a cactus buck listed above, 
you will not be allowed to keep it. 

CWMU buck deer 
hunts
Utah Admin. Rule R657-37

Cooperative Wildlife Management Units 
(CWMUs) are private lands that the landowners 
have opened to a limited number of public and 
private hunters. You may not hunt buck deer on 
a CWMU unless you obtain a buck deer permit 
for that CWMU. 

To learn more about hunting buck deer on 
CWMUs, read the article on page 41 and visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/cwmu.

Utah has four general-season elk hunts: 
• Archery hunt
• Any legal weapon hunt
• Muzzleloader hunt
• Multi-season hunt

These hunts are held on two types of units: 
any bull elk units and spike bull elk units.

If you obtain an archery permit, you can 
hunt on all of the open any bull and spike bull 
units in the state. 

If you obtain a general-season any legal 
weapon or muzzleloader permit, you must 
hunt on the type of unit specified on your 

permit. For example, if you obtain an any bull 
elk permit, you may hunt only on any bull elk 
units. If you obtain a spike bull permit, you may 
hunt only on spike bull units.

If you obtain a multi-season permit, you 
may hunt during the archery, any legal weapon 
and muzzleloader seasons, but you must hunt 
on the type of unit specified on your permit—
either spike or any bull—and you must use the 
appropriate weapon type for the season. 

Permits for the general-season elk hunts 
will be available on different days in July 2022. 
See the article on page 14 for the exact sales 
dates and visit wildlife.utah.gov/biggame in 
early June to see purchase times and locations. 

Regulations for all bull elk 
hunts

The following regulations apply to all of 
Utah’s bull elk hunts. 

Hunter orange
Utah Code § 23-20-31

You are required to obey the state’s 
hunter orange laws, unless your hunt is among 
the exceptions. For example, archery and 
muzzleloader hunters are not required to wear 
hunter orange unless the other hunts occurring 
in the area are for general-season any legal 
weapon buck deer or bull elk. For details, see 
page 43. 

New this year: Hunter orange is not 
required during the general-season any bull 
archery hunt that overlaps with the general-
season any bull youth hunt. Youth are still 
required to wear hunter orange during 
their hunt. 

CWMU bull elk hunts
Utah Admin. Rule R657-37

Cooperative Wildlife Management Units 
(CWMUs) are private lands that the landowners 
have opened to a limited number of public and 
private hunters. You may not hunt bull elk on a 
CWMU unless you obtain a bull elk permit for 
that CWMU. 

Legal in a spike bull unit.

Legal in a spike bull unit.

NOT legal in a spike bull unit.

Legal in a spike bull unit.
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To learn more about hunting bull elk on 

CWMUs, read the article on page 41 and 
visit wildlife.utah.gov/cwmu.

Special restrictions
If you participate in Utah’s bull elk hunt, 

please keep in mind that some areas are 
closed to hunting or have special restrictions. 
For a list of those areas, see page 48.

Obtaining other elk permits
If you obtained a bull elk permit of any 

kind, the only other elk permits you can obtain 
are antlerless elk permits. Please see page 
35 for more information on antlerless elk 
hunts.

General-season archery 
elk hunt
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-28

Utah’s general-season archery spike elk 
hunt runs from Aug. 20–Sept. 9, 2022. The 
general-season archery any bull elk hunt runs 
from Aug. 20–Sept. 21, 2022, except on the 
state’s extended archery areas, where the 
season runs later into the year.

If you obtain a general-season archery elk 
permit, you may use archery equipment to 
take only one of the following animals:

• One elk of either sex on a general-
season any bull elk unit

• An antlerless elk or a spike bull elk on a 
general-season spike bull elk unit

• Only a spike bull on the Book Cliffs unit
• One elk of either sex on the extended 

archery elk areas

Extended archery elk 
hunts

If you haven’t taken an elk by the time 
your archery hunt ends, you may continue 
hunting in the Uintah Basin, Wasatch Front 
and West Cache extended archery elk areas 
during the extended archery elk season, which 
runs from Aug. 20–Dec. 15, 2022. 

To hunt any of the extended archery areas, 

you must complete the Division’s archery eth-
ics course and carry your archery ethics course 
certificate of completion with you while you’re 
hunting. For more information, see page 6 
visit wildlife.utah.gov/extendedarchery.

General-season any legal 
weapon (rifle) bull elk 
hunt
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-29

Utah’s general-season any legal weapon 
elk hunt consists of the any bull elk hunt and 
the spike bull elk hunt. These hunts run from 
Oct. 8–20, 2022.

To hunt during the general-season elk 
hunt, you must obtain either a spike bull 
permit or an any bull permit.

If you obtain a general-season any legal 
weapon bull elk permit, you may use any legal 
weapon to take your bull elk. 

You may use a crossbow, an airgun, a draw 
lock or a muzzleloader.

If you obtain a spike bull elk permit, you 
may take a spike bull elk on a general-season 
spike bull elk unit. You may not hunt on the 
any bull elk units. Please keep in mind that 
some limited-entry bull elk hunts overlap the 
general-season spike elk hunt. 

If you obtain an any bull elk permit, you 
may take a bull elk of any size, including a 
spike bull, on a general-season any bull elk 
unit. You may not hunt on spike bull units.

In 2022, there will be an unlimited 
number of general-season any bull elk permits 
(any legal weapon, muzzleloader or multi-
season) available for youth who will be 17 
years of age or younger on July 31, 2021. 
These permits are not for the youth 
any bull elk hunt that runs from Sept. 
17–27, 2022. Visit wildlife.utah.gov/big-
game in early June to see purchase times and 
locations.

See the general-season bull elk hunt 
reference map on page 60, and the boundary 
descriptions at wildlife.utah.gov/huntplanner, 

Multi-season general 
bull elk hunt
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-29

The Utah Wildlife Board approved a 
multi-season general bull elk hunt for the 
2022 hunting season. 

Your hunting season dates and hunt 
areas depend on whether you choose 
a multi-season spike bull elk permit or 
a multi-season any bull elk permit. For 
details, see the table at the bottom of this 
page. 

Extended archery elk hunts
If you haven’t taken an elk by the time 

your multi-season hunt ends, you may con-
tinue hunting in the Uintah Basin, Wasatch 
Front and West Cache extended archery 
elk areas during the extended archery elk 
season, which runs from Aug. 20–Dec. 15, 
2022. 

To hunt any of the extended archery 
areas, you must complete the Division’s 
archery ethics course and carry your archery 
ethics course certificate of completion with 
you while you’re hunting. For more informa-
tion, see page 6 or visit wildlife.utah.gov/
extendedarchery.

to learn where spike bull units and any bull elk 
units are located in the state.

General-season muzzle-
loader elk hunt
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-30

The general-season muzzleloader elk hunt 
runs from Nov. 2–10, 2022 within the general-
season elk units. 

To hunt during the general season for 
muzzleloader elk, you must obtain either 
a muzzleloader spike bull elk permit or a 
muzzleloader any bull elk permit.

If you obtain a muzzleloader any bull elk 
permit, you may use a muzzleloader to take a 
bull elk of any size, including a spike bull, on a 
general-season any bull elk unit. You may not 
hunt on spike bull elk units.

If you obtain a muzzleloader spike bull elk 
permit, you may use a muzzleloader to take a 
spike bull elk on a general-season spike bull 
elk unit. You may not hunt on the any bull 
elk units. 

Please see the general-season bull elk 
hunt reference map on page 60 and the 
boundary descriptions at wildlife.utah.gov/
huntplanner to learn where spike bull units 
and any bull elk units are located in the state.

Season dates
Multi-season                   

spike bull elk permit
Multi-season                       

any bull elk permit
Aug. 20–Sept. 9, 2022

Archery season
Use archery equipment to take an antlerless elk or spike bull elk 
on a general-season spike unit*

Aug. 20–Sept. 21, 2022
Archery season

Use archery equipment to take an antlerless elk or any bull elk 
on a general-season any bull unit

Oct. 8–20, 2022
Any legal weapon 

season

Use any legal weapon to take 
a spike bull elk on a general-
season spike unit

Use any legal weapon to take 
any bull elk on a general-
season any bull unit

Nov. 2–10, 2022
Muzzleloader season

Use muzzleloader equipment 
to take a spike bull elk on a 
general-season spike unit

Use muzzleloader equipment 
to take any bull elk on a 
general-season any bull unit

* You may only take a spike bull on the Book Cliffs unit.
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Avoid harvesting 
collared wildlife

The Division has placed radio and GPS 
collars on bighorn sheep, bison, deer, elk, 
moose, mountain goats and pronghorn 
in various areas across the state. The 
Division is monitoring these animals in a 
handful of ongoing studies about migra-
tion and survival. 

If possible, please avoid harvesting 
a collared animal. It is an expensive and 
time-consuming process to capture and 
collar replacement animals.

If you do harvest a collared animal, 
please remove the collar without cutting 
it, pull the front two incisors (for aging 
purposes) and contact your local Division 
office for information on how to return 
the collar.

To learn more about collared wildlife 
studies and the Utah Wildlife Migration 
Initiative, visit wildlifemigration.utah.gov.

Reminder: If you are hunting in an ex-
tended archery elk area during the extended 
archery elk season, you may harvest any 
bull elk or antlerless elk. (This applies even 
if the extended archery area overlaps a spike 
bull elk unit.)

Obtaining a multi-season bull elk 
permit

Multi-season general bull elk permits 
will be available on different days in July 
2022. See the article on page 14 for the 
exact sales dates and visit wildlife.utah.gov/
biggame in early June to see purchase times 
and locations.  

Permits will come out of the same 
permit quota as the general-season any legal 
weapon and muzzleloader bull elk permits.  

Bull elk hunt 
opportunities for youth
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-31

In 2022, there will be an unlimited 
number of general-season any bull elk permits 
(any legal weapon, muzzleloader or multi-
season) available for youth who will be 17 
years of age or younger on July 31, 2022. 
Remember, you cannot hunt until you are at 
least 12 years old. 

The general-season any bull elk permits 
go on sale July 12, 2022. Visit wildlife.utah.
gov/biggame in early June to see permit 
purchase times and locations. 

The general-season any bull per-
mits referenced above are not for the 
youth any bull elk hunt that runs from 
Sept. 17–27, 2022. Permits for that hunt 
were only available through the big game 
drawing. 

If you drew a permit for the youth general-
season any bull elk hunt—which runs from 
Sept. 17–27, 2022—you may use any legal 
weapon to take a bull elk or antlerless elk of 
any size on any general-season any bull elk unit 
in Utah. 

Important: A permit for the youth any 
bull elk hunt is not valid during the general-
season any bull elk hunts.

Please remember that although you may 
take a spike bull elk during this hunt, you may 
not hunt on a spike bull elk unit. 

You may obtain only one youth any bull 
elk permit in your lifetime. 

Limited-entry bull elk 
hunts
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-32

A limited-entry bull elk permit allows you 
to use the weapon listed on your permit to 
take one bull elk of any size within the area 
and season specified on your permit.  

Multi-season hunts
There are multi-season hunts that allow the 

permit holder to hunt bull elk during all three 
seasons (archery, muzzleloader and any legal 
weapon) on select limited-entry units. 

If you have obtained a permit for one of 
these hunts, you must use the appropriate 
weapon type for the season. 

Handgun-archery-muzzleloader-shot-
gun-only (HAMS) bull elk hunts
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-48

For 2022, the Utah Wildlife Board approved 
handgun-archery-muzzleloader-shotgun-only 
(HAMS) hunts (Oct. 1–Nov. 15, 2022) on these 
seven limited-entry elk units:

• Box Elder, Sawtooth
• Cache, North
• Nine Mile, Anthro
• Oquirrh-Stansbury
• Plateau, Barney Top/Kaiparowits
• Southwest Desert, North
• West Desert, Deep Creek

Note: HAMS permits are not valid on 
extended archery hunts. 

Important: You may not use scopes or 
other optics on any weapons during this hunt. 
You may only use the following weapons on a 
handgun-archery-muzzleloader-shotgun-only 
hunt:

Handgun
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-9 & R657-5-48 

The handgun you use must be legal for bull 
elk, with no attached scope. (See the Firearms 
and archery equipment section that begins on 
page 43.) The handgun must also:

• Have no more than a single barrel 15 
inches or less in length, including the 
chamber

• Have a single rear handgrip without 
any form of any of the following:

• A fixed, detachable or collapsible 
buttstock

• An apparatus or extension behind 
the rear grip that’s capable of 
being used to steady the handgun 
against the body while firing

• A vertical foregrip
Finally, the handgun can be no more than 

24 inches in overall length.

Archery equipment
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-11

The archery equipment you use must be 
legal for bull elk. (See the Firearms and archery 
equipment section that begins on page 43.)

Muzzleloader
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-10

The muzzleloader you use must be legal 
for bull elk, with no attached scope. (See the 
Firearms and archery equipment section that 
begins on page 43.)

Shotgun
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-8

The shotgun you use must be legal for bull 
elk, with no attached scope. (See the Firearms 
and archery equipment section that begins on 
page 43.)

More opportunity for archers
Limited-entry archery elk hunters who 

don’t harvest during the limited-entry season 
will be allowed to hunt the extended archery 
areas after completing the online extended 
archery course. For details, please see page 6 
or visit wildlife.utah.gov/extendedarchery.

And don’t forget: You must submit your 
harvest survey within 30 days of the final day 
of your limited-entry season. You do not need 
to submit a survey for the extended archery 
season. 
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Buck pronghorn 
hunting
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-34

To hunt buck pronghorn, you must possess 
a buck pronghorn permit. 

New this year: You may apply for and 
hunt a doe and buck pronghorn in the same 
year. 

If you obtained a buck pronghorn permit, 
you may use the weapon listed on your permit 
to take one buck pronghorn within the area 
and season specified on your permit. 

You may use a crossbow, an airgun, a draw 
lock or a muzzleloader with a magnifying 
scope during the any legal weapon (rifle) hunt. 

“Buck pronghorn” means a pronghorn with horns that 
are longer than five inches (R657-5-2(2)(f)).

Note: Only archery equipment may be 
used during the buck pronghorn archery hunt. 
If you’d like to hunt from a blind, please contact 
the public agency that manages the land you’ll 
be hunting on to learn about any regulations 
you must follow to construct a blind.

Hunter orange
Utah Code § 23-20-31

You must obey Utah’s hunter orange 
regulation (see page 43). Archery and 
muzzleloader hunters are not required to wear 
hunter orange unless the other hunts occurring 
in the area are for any legal weapon general-
season buck deer or bull elk.

CWMU buck pronghorn 
hunts
Utah Admin. Rule R657-37

Cooperative Wildlife Management Units 
(CWMUs) are private lands that the landown-
ers have opened to a small number of public 
and private hunters. You may not hunt buck 
pronghorn on a CWMU unless you obtain a 
buck pronghorn permit for that CWMU. 

To learn more about hunting buck prong-
horn on CWMUs, read the article on page 41 
and visit wildlife.utah.gov/cwmu.

Ways to report poachers
Utah Admin. Rule R657-51

If you witness an in-progress wildlife 
violation—or you’re aware of a previously 
committed wildlife crime—you have 
several ways to contact our conservation 
officers. These options make it much easier 
to report wildlife crimes, and you can do so 
anonymously, if needed. 

Visit wildlife.utah.gov/utip to learn more 
about your four contact options, which are 
listed below in order of urgency:

1. Call our hotline at 1-800-662-3337
2. Submit a tip through the UTDWR law 

enforcement app

3. Text a conservation officer at 847411 
4. Submit an online report at wildlife.

utah.gov/utip
When you visit wildlife.utah.gov/utip, 

you can access the Apple and Android 
download links for the new UTDWR app 
and see which regional office code you 
should include in a text to officers.  (The 
codes ensure that texts get to the regions 
and officers who are in the best position to 
respond.)

We encourage you to report any 
poaching activities immediately and truly 
appreciate your help in protecting Utah’s 
wildlife. 

Bison hunting
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-38

To hunt bison, you must possess a bison 
permit. You may obtain a bison permit 
through the big game drawing only once in 
your lifetime.

If you obtained a hunter’s choice bison 
permit, you may use the weapon type listed 
on your permit to take one bison of either sex 

ONCE-IN-A-LIFETIME HUNTS
All of Utah’s bison, bull moose, bighorn sheep and mountain goat permits are considered 
once-in-a-lifetime permits. That’s because you can draw a permit for each of these species 
only once in your lifetime.

within the area and the season listed on your 
permit. 

If you obtained a cow bison permit, you 
may use the weapon type listed on your per-
mit to take only a cow bison within the area 
and the season listed on your permit.

Note: You may obtain only one bison per-
mit—of any kind—during the 2022 season.

New this year: All bison hunters must 
review educational information about shot 
placement prior to the hunt. Details about 
this requirement will accompany your permit; 
see wildlife.utah.gov/bisonhunting for more 
information about shot placement. 

Online orientation course
If you drew a cow bison permit, you must 

complete the online orientation course located 
at go.usa.gov/xunKe. You’ll receive your permit 
after you successfully complete the course. 

Interact with our maps 
using the Avenza Maps™ 
app

You can now interact with DWR maps 
on your mobile device using the Avenza 
Maps™ app.

Avenza Maps gives you the ability to 
download and use DWR maps on your 
mobile devices, even without the internet 
or a network connection. Know where you 
are hunting, even in the most remote areas 
of Utah.

To access these maps on your mobile 
devices: 

• Turn to the maps on pages 56-63 and 
use your smartphone to scan the QR 
code on the map you want to view. 

• If you do not have Avenza Maps 
installed on your device, you will be 
directed to the App Store or Google 
Play to download and install the app 
on your device.

• If you already have Avenza Maps on 
your device, you can scan the map QR 
code using the reader in Avenza Maps 
(or your device’s QR reader) and the 
map will load.

• Find additional DWR maps by search-
ing “UDWR” in the Avenza Map Store.
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Permits will be available for purchase 

starting July 12, 2022. You can buy the permits 
at wildlife.utah.gov and at license agent loca-
tions and Division offices.

Important: If you purchase a permit 
for this hunt, you will forfeit any future op-
portunities to apply for a bison permit in the 
big game drawing. You can, however, continue 
to purchase this permit annually as long as the 
permit is offered. 

Bull moose hunting
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-37

To hunt bull moose, you must possess 
a bull moose permit. You may obtain a bull 
moose permit through the big game drawing 
only once in your lifetime. 

Your bull moose permit allows you to use 
the weapon type listed on your permit to take 
one bull moose within the hunting unit and 
season specified on your permit. 

New this year: You may apply for and 
hunt cow and bull moose in the same year. 

CWMU bull moose hunts
Utah Admin. Rule R657-37

Cooperative Wildlife Management Units 
(CWMUs) are private lands that the landown-
ers have opened to a limited number of public 
and private hunters. You may not hunt on a 
bull moose CWMU unless you obtain a bull 
moose permit for that CWMU. 

Antelope Island
If you drew an Antelope Island bison per-

mit, the Utah Division of Parks and Recreation 
(Utah State Parks) may require you to complete 
a course before you can hunt. 

Before the hunt begins, Utah State Parks 
will notify you about the date, time and loca-
tion of the course. You’ll receive your permit 
after you successfully complete the course.

Because the Antelope Island hunt is ad-
ministered by Utah State Parks, your hunt will 
include some extra park-related fees. For more 
information, please call 801-725-9263.

Nine Mile bison opportunity
In 2020, the Utah Wildlife Board approved 

a bison hunting opportunity for the Nine Mile 
unit. This unit is extraordinarily rugged and 
difficult to access. The odds of a successful hunt 
are fairly low.

See wildlife.utah.gov/huntplanner for 
detailed boundary information. 

Hunters who are willing to give up any 
future opportunities to apply for a bison per-
mit in the big game drawing may purchase an 
over-the-counter bison hunting permit for this 
area. There is a mandatory online course before 
you can purchase a permit. The course explains 
the access issues in detail and is very direct in 
describing the challenges of the hunt. For ad-
ditional details about this hunt and to take the 
course, visit wildlife.utah.gov/biggame.

A “bull moose” is a moose that has antlers that are 
longer than its ears (R657-5-2(2)(h)).

Report your harvest
If you obtain an antlerless permit this 

year, don’t forget to complete a harvest 
report after your hunt ends. 

Visit wildlife.utah.gov/harvest and 
click the Report Your Harvest button near 
the top of the page. Then, you can log in 
and complete your harvest report.

If you prefer to complete your 
harvest report over the phone, call 
1-800-221-0659. 

take one ram within the area and the season 
specified on your permit. 

New this year: You may apply for and 
hunt ewe and ram bighorn sheep in the same 
year. 

After taking your ram, you must bring its 
horns to a Division office within 72 hours of 
leaving your hunting area. When you come to 
the office, a Division staff person will perma-
nently affix a numbered plug to the horn. This 
plug certifies that the sheep was taken legally.

To learn more about hunting bull moose on 
CWMUs, read the article on page 41 and visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/cwmu.

Ram desert bighorn 
and ram Rocky 
Mountain bighorn 
sheep hunting
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-39

To hunt a ram desert bighorn sheep or a ram 
Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep, you must pos-
sess a permit for the species you wish to hunt 
(i.e., a ram desert bighorn sheep permit to hunt 
desert bighorn sheep, or a ram Rocky Mountain 
bighorn sheep permit to hunt Rocky Mountain 
bighorn sheep).

Ram desert bighorn sheep hunts and ram 
Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep hunts are 
considered separate once-in-a-lifetime hunts. 
For example, if you obtain a ram desert bighorn 
sheep permit, and you’ve never obtained a ram 
Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep permit before, 
you can continue applying for a ram Rocky 
Mountain bighorn sheep permit.

A hunter may obtain a maximum of one ram 
Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep permit and one 
ram desert bighorn sheep permit in the same 
year, but both permits may not be obtained 
through the big game drawing.

A ram bighorn sheep permit allows you to 
use the weapon type listed on your permit to 

A “ram” is a male desert bighorn sheep or a male 
Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep (R657-5-2(2)(q)).

Points options for 
active, deployed 
military personnel 

If you are an active, deployed 
member of the military, you can now 
purchase a bonus or preference point, 
even if you missed an application period 
while deployed. The Division will also 
waive the required combination or 
hunting license fee when you make 
that point purchase. To qualify for these 
exemptions, a military member must:

• Be a resident of Utah
• Be deployed for 90 days or longer 

outside of Utah on federal orders 
from military command

• Not have previously received a 
bonus or preference point for the 
species and hunt type in the same 
year

• Otherwise be eligible to receive a 
bonus or preference point

• Pay a $10 application fee per point 
received 

• Submit an application for the 
exemption to the Division no later 
than Dec. 31 of the qualifying year 
of being deployed 

For additional information and the 
application form, visit wildlife.utah.gov/
military.



34

w
ild

lif
e.

ut
ah

.g
ov

w
ildlife.utah.gov

35

U
ta

h 
Bi

g 
G

am
e 

Fi
el

d 
Re

gu
la

tio
ns

  •
 2

02
2 U

tah Big G
am

e Field Regulations  • 2022
Mountain goat 
hunting 
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-40

To hunt a mountain goat, you must possess 
a mountain goat permit.

You may use the weapon listed on your 
permit to take one mountain goat within the 
area and the season specified on your permit. 
You may obtain a mountain goat permit 
through the big game drawing only once in 
your lifetime.

If you obtained a hunter’s choice mountain 
goat permit, you may use the weapon type 
listed on your permit to take one goat of either 
sex within the area and the season listed on 
your permit. 

If you obtained a female mountain goat 
permit, you may use the weapon type listed on 
your permit to take only a female goat within 
the area and the season listed on your permit.

Note: You may obtain only one mountain 
goat permit—of any kind—during the 2022 
season.

Online orientation course
If you obtained a mountain goat permit, 

you must complete the online orientation 
course located at wildlife.utah.gov/biggame. 
You’ll receive your permit after you successfully 
complete the course. 

Possible habitat work 
in your hunt area 

Throughout the year, the Divi-
sion works with other government 
agencies—including the U.S. Forest 
Service and the Bureau of Land Manage-
ment—to complete thousands of acres 
of habitat-improvement work on Utah’s 
public lands.

Those projects range from plant 
removal to prescribed burns and from 
helicopter reseeding to large-scale plant-
ing projects. They help restore habitat for 
mule deer, elk, sage-grouse and other 
species, giving them the food and cover 
they need to thrive on the landscape. 

Please be aware that projects occur 
across the state, year round. This means 
that sometimes a project may occur in 
a portion of your hunt area, during the 
hunt. 

If this is something you’re concerned 
about, you may want to contact the 
land-management agency for your hunt 
area this summer. They may be able to 
give you a tentative list of projects for 
2022, which will give you more informa-
tion in planning your hunt.

You can also see a list of past, current 
and proposed restoration projects at 
watershed.utah.gov.  

Additional opportunity
There is some flexibility if you are an ant-

lerless deer permit holder who also possesses 
a permit to hunt any one of the following 
seasons:

• General-season buck deer (archery, 
muzzleloader, any legal weapon or 
dedicated hunter)

• General-season bull elk (archery, 
muzzleloader, any legal weapon or 
multi-season)

• Premium limited-entry buck deer (ar-
chery, muzzleloader, any legal weapon 
or multi-season) 

• Limited-entry buck deer (archery, 
muzzleloader, any legal weapon or 
multi-season)

• Limited entry bull elk (archery, 
muzzleloader, any legal weapon or 
multi-season)

• Antlerless elk
If your antlerless deer permit is for 

the same area as one of the permits listed 
above—and you use the appropriate weapon 
type specified for your current hunting sea-
son—you may use your antlerless deer permit 
during the season listed on your other permit. 

If you harvest a buck deer, bull elk or ant-
lerless elk—and you have an unfilled antler-
less deer permit—you may continue hunting 
antlerless deer during the buck deer, bull elk 
or antlerless elk season listed on your other 
permit. However, you may not use a permit for 
a buck deer or bull elk during the antlerless 
season, unless it’s during the timeframe when 
the two seasons overlap.

Antlerless deer 
hunting
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-27

To hunt antlerless deer, you must possess 
an antlerless deer permit. A person may obtain 
only one antlerless deer permit or one two-doe 
antlerless deer permit through the antlerless 
drawing. 

An antlerless deer permit allows you to use 
the legal weapon listed on your permit to take 
one antlerless deer in the area and season speci-
fied on your permit.

A two-doe antlerless deer permit allows you 
to use the legal weapon listed on your permit to 
take two antlerless deer in the area and season 
specified on your permit.

If you have an any legal weapon (rifle) 
permit, you may use a crossbow, an airgun, a 
draw lock or a muzzleloader with a magnifying 
scope during the rifle hunt. 

You may not hunt antlerless deer on a 
Cooperative Wildlife Management Unit (CWMU) 
unless you obtain an antlerless deer permit for 
that CWMU.

You may obtain only one antlerless deer 
permit for the 2022 antlerless season. 

ANTLERLESS HUNTS
Utah offers antlerless hunts each year. These hunts help ensure that populations remain at 
sustainable, manageable levels, and they remove animals that pose depredation problems. 
Depending on the permit you obtain, you could hunt antlerless deer, elk or moose, doe 
pronghorn or ewe bighorn sheep. This section describes the species you can hunt, the 
weapons you can use and the types of permits that are available.

An “antlerless deer” is a deer without antlers or with 
antlers five inches or shorter (R657-5-2(2)(a)).
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Antlerless elk hunting
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-33

To hunt antlerless elk, you must possess an 
antlerless elk permit. This permit allows you to 
use the legal weapon listed on your permit to 
take one antlerless elk in the area and season 
specified on your permit. 

If you have an any legal weapon (rifle) 
permit, you may use a crossbow, an airgun, a 
draw lock or a muzzleloader with a magnifying 
scope during the rifle hunt. 

You may not hunt antlerless elk on a Co-
operative Wildlife Management Unit (CWMU) 
unless you obtain an antlerless elk permit for 
that CWMU.

Obtain three elk permits
You can obtain up to three elk permits in 

Utah each year. 
• A maximum of one permit can be for a 

bull elk.
• A maximum of one antlerless elk permit 

can be obtained through the antlerless 
drawing.

• A maximum of two antlerless elk permits 
can be obtained over the counter. 

For the purposes of obtaining multiple 
elk permits, an archery elk permit (hunter’s 
choice) is considered a bull elk permit. 
Likewise, general-season archery permits are 
also considered bull elk permits. Antlerless 
elk-control or private-lands-only permits are 
considered antlerless permits. 

You may apply for only one antlerless elk 
permit in the antlerless drawing. 

If you do not obtain an antlerless elk 
permit in the drawing, you may be eligible to 
purchase up to two antlerless elk permits over 
the counter.

Over-the-counter antlerless elk permits 
include all of the following:

• Antlerless elk-control permits (for 
detailed information about these 
permits, see wildlife.utah.gov/antlerless-
elk-control.html)

• Private-lands-only permits (for detailed 
information about these permits, see 
wildlife.utah.gov/private-lands-only-
permits.html)

• Mitigation vouchers 
• CWMU vouchers
• Any general-season permits that remain 

available after the antlerless drawing
Please keep in mind that both antlerless 

elk-control and private-lands-only permits 
have special usage requirements. Do not 
purchase either of the permits until you under-
stand and can meet those requirements. 

An “antlerless elk” is an elk without antlers or with 
antlers five inches or shorter (R657-5-2(2)(b)).

Antlerless season dates 
online

To review the 2022 antlerless season 
dates—as well as information about ant-
lerless hunting options, permit numbers, 
application dates, maps and hunt bound-
aries—visit wildlife.utah.gov/guidebooks. 
These tools and resources will be available 
online by May 19, one week before the 
antlerless application period begins. 

You can apply for antlerless permits 
from May 26 to June 16, 2022. 

For more information on the antlerless 
application period, see page 13.

A “doe pronghorn” is a pronghorn without horns or 
with horns five inches or shorter (R657-5-2(2)(j)).

The units where you can use these permits 
may change every year. See the map on 
page 61 to view all of the antlerless elk-control 
units.

Note: Antlerless elk-control permits must 
be used on an antlerless elk-control hunting 
unit and cannot be used on a CWMU. 

Additional opportunity
There is some flexibility if you are an ant-

lerless elk permit holder who also possesses 
a permit to hunt any one of the following 
seasons:

• General-season buck deer (archery, 
muzzleloader, any legal weapon or 
dedicated hunter)

• General-season bull elk (archery, 
muzzleloader, any legal weapon or 
multi-season)

• Premium limited-entry buck deer (ar-
chery, muzzleloader, any legal weapon 
or multi-season) 

• Limited-entry buck deer (archery, 
muzzleloader, any legal weapon or 
multi-season)

• Limited entry bull elk (archery, 
muzzleloader, any legal weapon or 
multi-season)

• Antlerless deer or elk, excluding antler-
less elk-control permits

If your antlerless elk permit is for the same 
area as one of the permits listed above—and 
you use the appropriate weapon type specified 
for your current hunting season—you may use 
your antlerless permit during the season dates 
authorized for your other permit. 

Please keep in mind, you may continue to 
hunt for antlerless elk during the season dates 
listed on your buck or bull permit, even after 
you have harvested your buck or bull. However, 
you may not use a permit for a buck deer or 
bull elk during the antlerless season, unless it’s 
during the timeframe when the two seasons 
overlap.

If you obtain two antlerless elk permits for 
the same area—but the permits are for differ-
ent seasons—you may harvest both elk during 
the same season.

Doe pronghorn 
hunting
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-35

To hunt a doe pronghorn, you must possess 
either a doe pronghorn permit or a two-doe 
pronghorn permit. A person may obtain only 
one doe pronghorn permit or one two-doe 
pronghorn permit through the antlerless 
drawing. 

Hunter Mentoring 
program

The Utah Hunter Mentoring program 
allows any qualifying adult to share their 
hunting permits with resident youth. 

Permits that are eligible for sharing 
under the Hunter Mentoring program 
include all big game permits as well as 
black bear, cougar, turkey, greater sage-
grouse and sharp-tailed grouse permits. 
Only swan and sandhill crane permits 
may not be shared because they are 
subject to conflicting federal regulations. 

To learn more about program eligi-
bility and requirements and to download 
the application form, visit wildlife.utah.
gov/mentoring.
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An “antlerless moose” is a moose without antlers or 
with antlers shorter than its ears (R657-5-2(2)(c)).

A doe pronghorn permit allows you to use 
the legal weapon listed on your permit to take 
one doe pronghorn in the area and season 
specified on your permit.

A two-doe pronghorn permit allows you to 
use the legal weapon listed on your permit to 
take two doe pronghorn in the area and season 
specified on your permit.

If you have an any legal weapon (rifle) 
permit, you may use a crossbow, an airgun, a 
draw lock or a muzzleloader with a magnifying 
scope during the rifle hunt. 

You may not hunt doe pronghorn on a Co-
operative Wildlife Management Unit (CWMU) 
unless you obtain a doe pronghorn permit for 
that CWMU.

New this year: You may apply for and 
hunt doe and buck pronghorn in the same 
year.  

Antlerless moose 
hunting
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-36

To hunt antlerless moose, you must first 
obtain an antlerless moose permit. This permit 
allows you to use any legal weapon to take 
one antlerless moose in the area and season 
specified on your permit. 

New this year: You may apply for and 
hunt cow and bull moose in the same year.  

You may not hunt antlerless moose on 
a Cooperative Wildlife Management Unit 
(CWMU) unless you obtain an antlerless moose 
permit for that CWMU.

Ewe bighorn sheep 
hunting
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-39.5

To hunt either a ewe desert bighorn sheep 
or a ewe Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep, you 
must possess a permit for the species you wish 
to hunt (i.e., a ewe desert bighorn sheep per-
mit to hunt female desert bighorn sheep, or a 
ewe Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep permit to 
hunt female Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep).

Visit wildlife.utah.gov/guidebooks in late 
May to research antlerless hunting options and 
permit application information. 

A ewe bighorn sheep permit allows you to 
use the weapon type listed on your permit to 
take one ewe within the area and the season 
specified on your permit.  

New this year: You may apply for and 
hunt ewe and ram bighorn sheep in the same 
year.  

 A “ewe” is a female bighorn sheep or any bighorn  
sheep younger than one year of age (R657-5-2(2)(m)). 

PERMIT SURRENDERS, REFUNDS AND 
EXCHANGES
Utah Code § 23-19-38 & Utah Admin. Rule R657-42-4

What happens if you obtain a permit and then realize you won’t be able to use it? You have a few 
options, some of which have recently changed. 

Surrendering a permit 
If you need to surrender your permit—and 

your hunting season hasn’t started—you 
should consider surrendering the permit 
as soon as possible. If you surrender early 
enough, you’ll be able to keep your bonus 
points or preference points and avoid a waiting 
period. 

Reminder: If you want to surrender your 
big game permit, you are strongly encouraged 
to do so at least 30 days before the sea-
son opens. Learn more below or visit wildlife.
utah.gov/refund.

Individuals

How permit surrender affects an indi-
vidual’s bonus and preference points

Reminder: If you surrender a big game 
permit at least 30 days before the start of the 
season, you’ll get all of your previously accrued 
bonus or preference points for that species/
permit back, but you will not earn a point for 
the current year. Important: If you surren-
der a big game permit less than 30 days 
before the season opens, you will lose 
all of your previously accrued bonus 
or preference points for that species/
permit and you will not earn a point for 
the current year. 

As long as you surrender a big game 
permit before the season opens, any applicable 
waiting period(s) will be waived. 

Groups

How permit surrender affects a 
group’s bonus and preference points

Reminder: If you obtain a permit through 
a group application—and then you decide to 
surrender it—you will not have your bonus 
or preference points reinstated unless your 
entire group meets the following conditions:

• All group members must surrender their 
permits

• Permit surrenders must occur at least 30 
days before the start of the season

Note: Even if you meet the above condi-
tions, you will not earn a point for the current 
year.

Important: If some of your group 
members surrender their permits less than 
30 days from the season opener, all group 
members will lose all of their bonus or prefer-
ence points. 

Members of the group may not surrender 
their permits individually unless the surrender 
occurs because of:

• Activation in the military
• An injury/illness that will prevent the 

individual from hunting
• Death 

How permit surrender affects waiting 
periods

If members of a group surrender their 
permits before the season begins, the waiting 
period will be waived. General-season permits 
are not subject to waiting periods.
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Dedicated Hunters

If you’re enrolled in the Dedicated Hunter 
program, and you decide to surrender your 
permit, you must return it to the Division be-
fore Aug. 20, 2022 (the day the general-season 
archery deer hunt opens).

Private landowner and 
CWMU permit holders

If you obtain a limited-entry landowner 
permit or a private CWMU permit, you can 
surrender it.

Limited-entry private landowner permits 
must be surrendered before the season the 
permit was issued for opens.

To surrender a private CWMU permit, there 
are two options. If possible, you should sur-
render your CWMU permit before the CWMU 
season opening dates listed on page 42. To 
surrender your permit after the CWMU season 
has started, but before you hunt, you and the 
CWMU operator must both sign an affidavit 
stating that you did not hunt with the permit. 
Both of the signatures must be notarized.

After the signatures are notarized, submit 
the affidavit and the unused permit to the 
Division.

Obtaining a refund
The Division rarely issues refunds for 

permits, licenses or certificates of registration, 
but there are some exceptions. To see if you’re 
eligible for a refund, visit wildlife.utah.gov/
refund.

Reminder: If you are eligible for a refund, 
you must submit all required forms and 
accompanying paperwork within 90 days of 
the season ending in order to qualify for a full 
refund.

Exchanging a permit
You may exchange your general-season 

buck deer permit for one that’s available in an-
other unit, but it must be for the same species 
and sex. For example, you cannot exchange a 
buck deer permit for a bull elk permit. 

You may also exchange your general-
season bull elk permit for another available 
general-season bull elk permit. For example, 
you could exchange an any bull elk permit for a 
spike bull elk permit, if a spike bull permit was 
available.

You may also exchange a general-season 
bull elk permit to obtain an available bull 
elk permit for a different weapon type. For 
example, you could exchange a general-season 
any legal weapon bull elk permit for a general-
season archery bull elk permit.

Any exchange must occur at a Division 
office, before the season opening date on the 
permit you originally obtained.

You must also pay a $10 handling fee to 
exchange a permit.

Duplicate licenses
Utah Code § 23-19-10 & Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-5

If your unexpired license or permit is 
destroyed, lost or stolen, you can obtain a 
duplicate from a Division office or a license 
agent for $10 or half of the price of the original 
license or permit, whichever is less.

If you drew a license or permit, but you 
never received it, the Division may waive the 
fee that you would normally have to pay to get 
a duplicate. 

Keep in mind that you can also use the 
Utah Hunting and Fishing app to legally carry 
hunting or combination licenses on a phone 
or tablet for all the members of your family. 
To download the app, visit wildlife.utah.gov/
mobileapp.

you obtained a permit for. (Please see pages 
22–23 in the 2022 Utah Big Game Application 
Guidebook for more information about waiting 
periods.)

You may not obtain more than one bull 
moose, one buck deer, one buck pronghorn 
or one bull elk permit in a year. Additionally, 
you can obtain antlerless deer, antlerless elk 
and doe pronghorn permits. More information 
about antlerless permits is available on page 
13.

Important: CWMU landowner as-
sociation members and operators—and their 
spouses and dependent children—cannot 
apply for their own CWMU permits in the 
public drawing.

Note: Antlerless elk-control permits must 
be used on an antlerless elk-control hunting 
unit and cannot be used on a CWMU. 

How to participate
If you draw a permit to hunt a CWMU, it 

is your responsibility to contact the CWMU 
operator to obtain the following:

• The dates you’ll be allowed to hunt 
within the legal CWMU hunting season 
framework. Both you and the opera-
tor must schedule around each of your 
individual needs—please be realistic 
and patient.

• A map of the CWMU, including access 
points. The CWMU will provide public 
hunters access to the entire CWMU, 
except for areas that are closed to 
both public and private hunters. If you 
feel that you haven’t received equal 

How the program works
The CWMU program provides landowners 

with an economic incentive to keep their pri-
vate range and forest lands as wildlife habitat 
instead of developing them.

CWMUs comprise more than two million 
acres of land in Utah. They’ll provide more than 
4,500 big game and antlerless hunting permits 
in 2022. Approximately one-third of those 
permits are available to the general public 
through the state’s big game drawing.

Hunting on CWMUs provides both public 
and private hunters with several advantages. 
Among those advantages are a better chance 
to take an animal and fewer hunters to 
compete with.

Obtaining a CWMU permit
If you’re a Utah resident, there are two 

ways to obtain a CWMU permit: you can apply 
for one in the state’s public drawing, or you can 
obtain a permit voucher from the landowner or 
operator of the CWMU you want to hunt.

If you’re not a resident of Utah, you can-
not apply for a CWMU permit in the public 
drawing. You can, however, obtain a permit 
voucher directly from the CWMU landowner 
or operator.

If you obtain a CWMU voucher, you can re-
deem it for a permit by visiting wildlifelicense.
utah.gov/hflo. 

If you obtain a CWMU permit, you may 
hunt only on the CWMU that’s specified on 
your permit. You may take only one animal of 
the species and sex listed on the permit. You’ll 
also incur a waiting period for the species 

COOPERATIVE WILDLIFE 
MANAGEMENT UNITS
Utah Admin. Rule R657-37 

More than 60 percent of the rangelands that Utah’s big game animals rely on in the winter 
are on private land. Utah’s Cooperative Wildlife Management Unit (CWMU) program works 
with landowners to preserve these lands, improve the habitat and provide more access to 
public hunters.
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treatment, please contact your regional 
Division office.

• A copy of the CWMU’s rules. CWMUs are 
allowed to develop rules of conduct for 
their unit. Examples of these rules may 
include: no preseason scouting; checking 
into and out of the unit daily; limited 
vehicle access; no overnight camping; 
a marksmanship test; and limiting the 
number of hunting companions. If you 
fail to abide by these rules, you might be 
asked to leave the CWMU. You can also 
review these rules online at wildlife.utah.
gov/cwmu.

Season dates
The Utah Wildlife Board has established 

timeframes for hunting on CWMUs (see chart 
below). Within these timeframes, hunters 
should expect to hunt at least five days for 
bucks/bulls and three days for antlerless big 
game. 

Please remember that Sunday does not 
count as part of the established hunting time-
frame unless mutually agreed upon by both 
the hunter and the CWMU operator.

The CWMU operator may also allow you 
to hunt additional days within the listed 
timeframes. 

Before you apply for a CWMU permit, con-
tact the operator to obtain general information 
about hunt dates, permitted weapons and 
other rules. If you draw a permit, it is your 
responsibility to contact the CWMU operator to 
confirm your season dates.

Hunt Dates
Archery hunts for buck 
deer, buck pronghorn 
and bull elk

Aug. 20–Oct. 31, 
2022

Any legal weapon 
(rifle) hunts for buck 
deer, buck pronghorn, 
bull elk and bull moose

Sept. 1–Oct. 31, 
2022

Hunt Dates
Muzzleloader hunts for 
buck deer 

Sept. 1–Oct. 31, 
2022

Muzzleloader hunts for 
bull elk

Sept. 1–Oct. 31, 
2022

Some deer and elk CWMUs have hunting 
seasons outside of these timeframes. For all 
CWMU hunt season dates, operator names 
and contact numbers, visit wildlife.utah.gov/
CWMU.

Reporting your harvest 
success

If you obtain a CWMU permit for an 
antlered animal, you must report information 
about your hunt within 30 days after it ends. 
Please see page 21 for more information 
about this important requirement.

Complaint process
If you wish to lodge a complaint against 

a CWMU, you should contact the Division of 
Wildlife Resources immediately. Biologists 
and conservation officers can supply you 
with a complaint form, or you can make the 
complaint in person or over the telephone. You 
and the operator should make every effort to 
resolve your issues before they escalate to the 
Division level.

If your problem cannot be resolved locally, 
it may be passed on to a CWMU Advisory Com-
mittee for review and possible action.

Learn more
To learn more about the CWMU program 

or to view maps of CWMU properties, visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/CWMU.

Checkpoints and 
officer contacts
Utah Code §§ 23-20-25 and 77-23-104

To help the Division fulfill its responsibility 
as trustee and custodian of Utah’s wildlife, 
Division conservation officers and biologists 
monitor the taking and possession of big game 
animals and the required permits, firearms 
and equipment used for hunting. You should 
expect to encounter conservation officers and 
biologists checking hunters in the field and at 
checkpoints.

If you’re contacted by a conservation 
officer, you must provide the officer with the 
items they request, including any licenses and 
permits required for hunting, any devices used 
to participate in hunting and any game you’ve 
taken. These contacts allow the Division to 
collect valuable information about Utah’s big 
game animals.

Firearms and archery 
equipment
Prohibited weapons
Utah Code §§ 23-20-3 and 23-13-18 and Utah Admin. Rule 
R657-5-7

You may only use firearms and archery 
tackle that are expressly permitted in this 
guidebook.

While hunting big game, you may not use:
• A firearm that’s capable of being fired 

fully automatic
• Any light-enhancement device or aiming 

device that casts a visible beam of light
• A firearm equipped with a computerized 

targeting system that marks a target, 

Hunting hours
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-6

You may take big game animals from 30 
minutes before official sunrise until 30 minutes 
after official sunset.

Requirement to wear 
hunter orange
Utah Code § 23-20-31

You must wear a minimum of 400 square 
inches of hunter orange material on your head, 
chest and back while hunting any species of 
big game, unless you are involved in one of the 
following types of hunts:

• Participating in a once-in-a-lifetime, 
statewide conservation or statewide 
sportsman hunt

• Participating in an archery, muzzleloader 
or HAMS hunt outside of an area where a 
general-season any legal weapon bull elk 
or general-season any legal weapon buck 
deer hunt is occurring

• Hunting on a cooperative wildlife man-
agement unit (CWMU), unless hunter 
orange is otherwise required by the 
operator of the CWMU

• Participating in urban deer removal, as 
authorized by Utah Admin. Rule R657-65. 

New this year: Hunter orange is not 
required during the general-season any bull 
archery hunt that overlaps with the general-
season any bull youth hunt. Youth are still 
required to wear hunter orange during 
their hunt. 

FIELD REGULATIONS
Several rules have been established to regulate big game hunting in Utah. These rules 
exist to ensure big game animals are hunted ethically and to help keep you safe in the 
field. Please be familiar with the requirements for carrying and using firearms and archery 
tackle. You should also know the different types of hunting methods that may and may not 
be used and what you’re required to do with any big game animal you take. 
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A crossbow used to hunt big game must 
have a minimum draw weight of 125 pounds 
and a positive mechanical safety mechanism.

A crossbow arrow or bolt used to hunt big 
game must be at least 16 inches long and have 
at least one of the following:

• Fixed broadheads that are at least 7/8-
inch wide at the widest point

• Expandable, mechanical broadheads that 
are at least 7/8-inch wide at the widest 
point when the broadhead is in the open 
position

It is unlawful for any person to:
• Hunt big game with an airgun or 

crossbow during a big game archery 
hunt, except as provided in R657-12-8 
and R657-5-11.

• Carry a cocked crossbow containing an 
arrow or a bolt while in or on any motor-
ized vehicle on a public highway or other 
public right-of-way, except as provided 
in R657-12-4.

calculates a firing solution and automati-
cally discharges the firearm at a point 
calculated most likely to hit the acquired 
target

• A computer or other device to remotely 
control the aiming and discharge of a 
firearm or other weapon for hunting an 
animal. 

These restrictions do not apply to laser 
range-finding devices or illuminated sight pins 
for archery equipment.

Rifles, airguns, shotguns 
and crossbows
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-8

You may use a rifle or shotgun to hunt big 
game, but your firearm and ammunition must 
meet the following requirements:

• Your rifle must fire centerfire cartridges 
and expanding bullets.

• Your shotgun must be 20 gauge or larger, 
and you may use only slug ammunition 
or buckshot that’s 00 or larger in size.

You may only use an airgun or crossbow to 
take big game if you have an any legal weapon 
permit. You may not use an airgun or cross-
bow to take big game if you have an archery or 
muzzleloader permit. (Please see Utah Admin. 
Rule R657-12-8 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-
11 for exceptions to this rule. )

If you use an airgun to hunt big game, that 
airgun must:

• Be pneumatically powered
• Be pressurized solely through a separate 

charging device
• Only fire a bolt or arrow

Your arrows or bolts must be at least 16 
inches long and travel at least 400 feet per 
second at the muzzle. They must also have ei-
ther a fixed broadhead that is at least 7/8-inch 
wide at the widest point or an expandable, 
mechanical broadhead that is at least 7/8-inch 
wide at the widest point when the broadhead 
is in the open position.

Are you allowed to 
possess a weapon?
Utah Code §§ 76-10-503  and 76-10-512

It is illegal under Utah Code §§ 
76-10-503  and 76-10-512 to possess or 
use a firearm, muzzleloader or any other 
dangerous weapon if you have been 
charged or convicted of certain offenses.

The purchase or possession of any 
hunting license, permit, tag or certificate 
of registration from the Division does not 
authorize the holder to legally possess or 
use a firearm, muzzleloader or any other 
dangerous weapon while hunting if they 
are otherwise restricted from possessing 
these weapons under Utah Code.

To determine whether you are 
allowed to possess a weapon, please 
review the Utah Code sections listed 
above or contact the law enforcement 
agency that oversees your case.

• Hunt any protected wildlife with a 
crossbow bolt that has any chemical, 
explosive or electronic device attached.

A crossbow used to hunt big game during 
an any legal weapon hunt may have a fixed or 
variable magnifying scope.

Handguns
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-9

You may use a handgun to take big game 
animals, but the handgun must be a minimum 
of .24 caliber and must fire a centerfire 
cartridge with an expanding bullet.

If you’re hunting elk, moose, bison, 
bighorn sheep or mountain goat, the handgun 
must develop at least 500 foot-pounds of 
energy at 100 yards

Reminder: If you have a handgun 
archery-muzzleloader-shotgun-only permit 
to hunt deer or elk, there are other handgun 
regulations you must follow. For details, see 
page 22.

Muzzleloaders
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-10

Muzzleloaders may be used during any 
big game hunt, except the archery hunt. To 
hunt big game with a muzzleloader, your 
muzzleloader must meet all of the following 
requirements:

• Both powder and bullet can be loaded 
only from the muzzle.

• It may have open sights, peep sights or a 
variable- or fixed-power scope, including 
a magnifying scope.

• It can have only one barrel, and the barrel 
must be at least 18 inches long.

• It cannot be capable of firing more than 
once without being reloaded.

• The powder and bullet—or powder, 
sabot and bullet—cannot be bonded 
together as one unit for loading.

• It must be loaded with black powder 
or a black powder substitute. The black 
powder or black powder substitute can-
not contain smokeless powder, but may 
contain some nitrocellulose.

• To hunt big game, you must use a lead 
or expanding bullet or projectile that’s at 
least 40 caliber in size.

• If you’re hunting deer or pronghorn, your 
bullet must be 130 grains or heavier, or 
your sabot must be 170 grains or heavier. 

• If you’re hunting elk, moose, bison, 
bighorn sheep or mountain goat, you 
must use a 210-grain or heavier bullet, or 
a sabot bullet that’s at least 240 grains.

If you obtain a muzzleloader permit, you 
may use only the muzzleloader equipment 
authorized in this section to take the species 
listed on the permit. 

You may not possess or be in control of a 
rifle or shotgun while in the field during the 
muzzleloader hunt. For the purposes of this 
section, “field” means a location where you are 
likely to find the species listed on your permit. 
(You are not considered to be in the field if you 
are in an established camping area or traveling 

Hunters with 
disabilities
Utah Admin. Rule R657-12

Utah provides special hunting ac-
commodations for people with disabili-
ties. These accommodations include the 
opportunity to hunt with a companion, 
use a crossbow, hunt from a vehicle, use 
a draw lock and use a scope on archery 
equipment. 

Hunters with disabilities may also 
apply for an extension to their season 
if they have a 2022 big game hunting 
permit in their possession and they meet 
certain criteria. 

To learn more about hunting accom-
modations for people with disabilities, 
please visit wildlife.utah.gov/disabled or 
call any Division office.
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• Arrows with chemically treated or 

explosive arrowheads
• A mechanical device that holds the bow 

at any increment of draw (Please see 
Utah Admin. Rule R657-12 and Utah 
Admin. Rule R657-5-11 for exceptions to 
this rule.)

• A release aid that is not handheld or that 
supports the draw weight of the bow

• A bow with a magnifying-aiming device
Please remember that your bow may be 

equipped with a range-finding device. Also, if 
you carry arrows in or on a vehicle, the arrows 
must be in an arrow quiver or a closed case.

If you obtain an archery permit—for 
either an archery-only season or a once-in-a-
lifetime hunt—you may use only the archery 
equipment authorized in this section to take 
the species listed on the permit. 

You may not possess or be in control of a 
rifle, shotgun, airgun, muzzleloader, crossbow 
or draw-lock while in the field during an 
archery hunt. For the purposes of this section, 
“field” means a location where you are likely to 
find the species listed on your permit. (You are 
not considered to be in the field if you are in an 
established camping area or traveling in a fully 
enclosed automobile or truck.)

 This restriction does not apply to the fol-
lowing people:

• Hunters who are lawfully hunting upland 
game or waterfowl

• Hunters who are licensed to hunt big 
game species, bear or cougar during rifle 
or muzzleloader hunts that coincide with 
the big game archery hunt

• Livestock owners who are protecting 
their livestock

• Individuals who are carrying a concealed 
weapon (You may not use your con-
cealed firearm to hunt or take protected 
wildlife.)

in a fully enclosed automobile or truck.) This 
restriction does not apply to the following 
people:

• Hunters who are lawfully hunting upland 
game or waterfowl

• Hunters who are licensed to hunt big 
game species during archery or rifle 
hunts that coincide with the muzzle-
loader hunt

• Livestock owners who are protecting 
their livestock

• Individuals who are carrying a concealed 
weapon (You may not use your con-
cealed firearm to hunt or take protected 
wildlife.)

Archery equipment
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-11

Archery equipment may be used during 
any big game hunt except the muzzleloader 
hunt.

To hunt big game with archery equipment, 
your equipment must meet all of the following 
requirements:

• Your bow must have a minimum pull 
of 30 pounds at the draw or the peak, 
whichever comes first.

• Your arrowheads must have two or more 
sharp-cutting edges that cannot pass 
through a 7/8 inch ring. If you’re using 
expanding arrowheads, the arrowheads 
must have two or more sharp-cutting 
edges that cannot pass through a 7/8 
inch ring when expanded.

• Your arrows must be at least 20 inches 
long, from the tip of the arrowhead to 
the tip of the nock.

You may not use any of the following 
equipment to take big game during the 
archery season:

• A crossbow or airgun (Please see Utah 
Admin. Rule R657-12 and Utah Admin. 
Rule R657-5-11 for exceptions to this 
rule.)

Loaded firearms in a 
vehicle
Utah Code §§§§ 76-10-502, 76-10-504, 76-10-505 and 
76-10-523

You may not carry a loaded firearm in or on 
a vehicle unless you meet all of the following 
conditions:

• You own the vehicle or have permission 
from the vehicle’s owner.

• The firearm is a handgun.
• You are 18 years of age or older.

A pistol, revolver, rifle or shotgun is 
considered to be loaded when there is an 
unexpended cartridge, shell or projectile in the 
firing position.

Pistols and revolvers are also considered 
to be loaded when an unexpended cartridge, 
shell or projectile is in a position whereby the 

manual operation of any mechanism once 
would cause the unexpended cartridge, shell 
or projectile to be fired.

A muzzleloading firearm is considered 
loaded when it is capped or primed and has a 
powder charge and ball or shot in the barrel or 
cylinders.  

Areas where you cannot 
discharge a firearm
Utah Code § 76-10-508 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-12

You may not discharge a dangerous 
weapon or firearm under any of the following 
circumstances: 

• From a vehicle 
• From, upon or across any highway 
• At power lines or signs
• At railroad equipment or facilities, 

including any sign or signal 
• Within Utah state park camp or picnic 

sites, overlooks, golf courses, boat ramps 
or developed beaches 

• Without written permission from the 
owner or property manager, within 600 
feet of:

• A house, dwelling or any other 
building 

• Any structure in which a domestic 
animal is kept or fed, including a 
barn, poultry yard, corral, feeding 
pen or stockyard

Carrying a dangerous 
weapon while under the 
influence of alcohol or 
drugs
Utah Code § 76-10-528

You may not carry a dangerous weapon 
or hunt big game while under the influence 
of alcohol or drugs. Please see Utah Code § 
76-10-528 at wildlife.utah.gov/rules for more 
information.

Utah’s Walk-in Access 
Program
Utah Admin. Rule R657-56-13

The Walk-in Access (WIA) program 
provides hunters, anglers and trappers 
access to privately owned land, streams, 
rivers, ponds or reservoirs.

If you use Utah’s Walk-in Access (WIA) 
properties, remember to obtain your 
annual WIA authorization number.

The Division issues authorization 
numbers to track the use of WIA proper-
ties throughout the year and to assess 
the program’s value to the public.  

To obtain your authorization number, 
visit wildlife.utah.gov/walkinaccess and 
click “Authorization numbers.” Follow the 
instructions and obtain your number. 
You can also request a number by calling 
1-800-221-0659.

Also, remember that WIA properties 
are private land and may have special 
restrictions on season dates, allowable 
activities, species and weapon types. Visit 
wildlife.utah.gov/walkinaccess for details. 
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National wildlife refuges

The U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service has 
expanded general-season archery hunting 
opportunities for mule deer and pronghorn 
on the Fish Springs National Wildlife Refuge. 
For details, visit the refuge website at go.usa.
gov/xHpsz.

Remember: All national wildlife refuges 
in Utah are closed to hunting unless they are 
declared open to hunting by the managing 
authority. 

National parks and 
monuments

All of Utah’s national parks and monu-
ments—except the Grand Staircase-Escalante 
and Bears Ears national monuments—are 
closed to hunting. 

Native American trust 
lands

To hunt on Native American trust lands, 
you must obtain a permit from the Native 
American tribe that owns the land. You must 
also observe all of the tribe’s wildlife regula-
tions while hunting on these trust lands.

Military installations
All of the military installations in Utah, 

including Camp Williams, are closed to hunting 
and trespassing unless you have authorized 
permission. 

Salt Lake County
To view maps of the Salt Lake County areas 

listed below, visit wildlife.utah.gov/huntplan-
ner. These areas have various restrictions, and 
you may not do any of the following:

• Hunt big game within one-half mile of 
Silver Lake in Big Cottonwood Canyon.

• Hunt on the Red Butte Research Natural 
Area, which is closed to public access.

• Hunt in Emigration Township with a rifle 
or muzzleloader. This area is restricted 

Areas with special 
restrictions
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-12

The following areas have certain restric-
tions. Please be familiar with them before 
heading into the field.

Counties and local 
municipalities

Please check county and local municipal-
ity ordinances regarding firearm restrictions 
before hunting in these areas.

State waterfowl 
management areas

In 2022, you may hunt big game during 
the archery season on the following waterfowl 
management areas: Bicknell Bottoms, Browns 
Park, Clear Lake, Desert Lake, Locomotive 
Springs and Redmond.

You may hunt big game during the 
archery, muzzleloader and any legal weapon 
seasons on the Stewart Lake Waterfowl 
Management Area.

All of Utah’s other waterfowl management 
areas are closed to big game hunting. 

State parks
Utah Code § 76-10-508 and Utah Admin. Rule R651-614-4

Hunting of wildlife is allowed within the 
boundaries of all state park areas, except 
those areas and hunts specifically closed by the 
Utah Division of State Parks and Recreation in 
Utah Admin. Rule R651-614. For more informa-
tion, visit stateparks.utah.gov/resources/
hunting-at-state-park.

State laws regarding the possession and 
discharge of dangerous weapons apply in state 
park areas open to hunting. For information 
about discharging a dangerous weapon or 
firearm in a state park, see the Areas where 
you cannot discharge a firearm section above or 
review Utah Code § 76-10-508.

Motorized vehicle 
access on wildlife 
management areas
Utah Admin. Rule R657-6-14

Motorized vehicle travel on state wildlife 
management areas is restricted to county roads, 
parking areas, and areas marked or posted open 
to motorized vehicle travel. Seasonal closures 
may occur.

Trespassing
Utah Code §§ 23-20-14 and 23-20-3.5

While taking wildlife or engaging in 
wildlife-related activities, you may not—with-
out written permission—enter or remain on 
privately owned land that is: 

• Cultivated
• Properly posted
• Fenced or enclosed in a manner designed 

to exclude intruders
In addition, you may not:
• Enter or remain on private land when 

directed not to do so by the owner or a 
person acting for the owner

to archery tackle only. Visit wildlife.
utah.gov/huntplanner to view a map 
of the archery-only area in Emigration 
Township.

• Hunt within the portion of Alta that is 
closed to hunting. Please contact the 
town of Alta for hunt boundaries and 
other information. 

• Hunt buck deer or bull elk with a rifle or 
muzzleloader south of I-80 and east of 
I-15 (see map online at wildlife.utah.gov/
huntplanner).

Also, before hunting in the Salt Lake County 
area, please check the Salt Lake County and 
local municipality ordinances regarding firearm 
and hunting restrictions.

CWMUs and limited-entry 
units 

There are a few restrictions that apply to 
CWMUs and limited-entry hunting units:

• You may not hunt on a CWMU unless 
you obtain a permit to hunt a particular 
species on that CWMU. 

• Archery hunters may not kill a cow elk on 
the Book Cliffs hunting unit.

Scott and Norma 
Matheson Wetlands 
Preserve

You may use only archery equipment, 
muzzleloaders or shotguns while hunting 
on the Scott and Norma Matheson Wetlands 
Preserve.

Green River—Jensen, 
Utah

New this year: Muzzleloaders are no 
longer permitted, and shotgun shot size is 
restricted. 

You may not discharge a firearm—ex-
cept a shotgun firing shot size not to exceed 
T(.20)—from, upon or across the Green River 
near Jensen, Utah (from the bridge on US-40 
upstream to the Dinosaur National Monument 
boundary).

Obtain permission to 
hunt private property

The Division cannot guarantee access 
to private land, and the agency does not 
have the names of landowners who own 
property where hunts occur.

Under certain circumstances, you 
must obtain written permission from 
the landowner or the landowner’s 
authorized representative before hunting 
or trapping on private lands. Ideally, you 
should have permission before you 
apply for or obtain a permit. 

If you obtain written permission in 
advance, you know you’ll be able to use 
the permit if you draw it.

You can find and download a land-
owner permission card at wildlife.utah.
gov/permission.
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Prohibited hunting 
methods
Utah Code §§§§ 23-20-3, 23-16, 76-10-504, 76-10-523 and 
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-13

Baiting
Utah law prohibits the baiting of big game 

for hunting purposes throughout the state. 
(See the full definitions of “bait” and “baited 
area” on page 64.)

Unless you have special permission from 
the Division—in the form of a certificate of 
registration—it is unlawful to do any of the 
following:

• Bait big game for hunting purposes
• Take big game in a baited area
• Take big game that has been lured to or 

is traveling from a baited area
If you have questions about this law, 

please see our FAQ document at wildlife.utah.
gov/bait-big-game or contact your local Divi-
sion office (see page 2 for contact info). 

Night-vision devices (new 
this year)
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-7

You may not use any night-vision device to 
locate or attempt to locate a big game animal 
from 48 hours before any big game hunt in the 
area through 48 hours after any big game hunt 
ends in the area. 

The rule applies to anything that enhances 
visible and non-visible light and includes the 
use of night-vision devices, thermal-imaging 
devices, infrared-imaged devices and other 
electronic devices that enhance the visible and 
non-visible light spectrum. 

See page 64 for definitions, and visit wild-
life.utah.gov/trailcams for more information 
about new night-vision device rule changes 
for 2022. 

Spotlighting
You may not use a spotlight, headlight 

or other artificial light to take or locate any 

• Obstruct any entrance or exit to private 
property

“Cultivated land” is land that is readily iden-
tifiable as land whose soil is loosened or broken 
up for the raising of crops, land used for the 
raising of crops, or a pasture that is artificially 
irrigated. 

“Permission” means written authorization 
from the owner or person in charge to enter 
upon private land that is cultivated or properly 
posted. Permission must include all of the fol-
lowing details: 

• The signature of the owner or person in 
charge 

• The name of the person being given 
permission 

• The appropriate dates 
• A general description of the land 

You can find an authorization form online at 
wildlife.utah.gov/permission.

“Properly posted” means that signs prohibit-
ing trespass—or bright yellow, bright orange 
or fluorescent paint—are clearly displayed at 
all corners, on fishing streams crossing property 
lines, and on roads, gates and rights-of-way 
entering the land. Or, they are displayed in a 
manner that is visible to a person in the area. 

You may not post private property you do 
not own or legally control or land that is open to 
the public as provided by Utah Code § 23-21-4. 
In addition, it is unlawful to take protected 
wildlife or its parts while trespassing in violation 
of Utah Code § 23-20-14. 

You are guilty of a class B misdemeanor if 
you violate any provision described in this sec-
tion. Your license, tag or permit privileges may 
also be suspended.

No drones allowed
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-14

It is illegal to use drones to scout or 
hunt big game from 48 hours before any 
big game hunt begins through 48 hours 
after any big game hunting season ends.

protected wildlife (including big game) if you 
have any of the following weapons in your 
possession:

• Rifle
• Shotgun
• Archery equipment
• Airgun
• Crossbow
• Muzzleloader 

The use of a spotlight or other artificial 
light in any area where protected wildlife are 
generally found is considered probable cause 
of attempting to locate protected wildlife. 

The provisions of this section do not apply 
to the use of the headlights of a motor vehicle, 
illuminated sight pins on a bow or other arti-
ficial light in a usual manner where there is no 
attempt or intent to locate protected wildlife. 

In addition, the above restrictions do not 
apply to concealed firearm carriers, provided 

the person is not using the concealed firearm 
to hunt or take wildlife. 

Trail cameras (new this 
year)
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-7

At the direction of the Utah Legislature, 
the Utah Wildlife Board approved changes to 
the state’s trail camera rules, which will apply 
this hunting season. 

You may not use any trail camera (or 
non-handheld device) in the take of big game, 
cougars or bears—or to aid in the take of big 
game, cougars or bears—between July 31 
and Dec. 31. 

The rule applies to public and private 
property. 

The rule also prohibits the sale or purchase 
of footage or data from any trail camera (or 
non-handheld device) that could be used 
to take, attempt to take, or aid in the take 
or attempted take of big game, cougars or 
bears. That includes images or video, location 
information, time and date of the footage and 
any other data that could aid in the harvest or 
attempted take of big game, cougars or bears.

See the informational box on page 19 for 
details about restrictions and exceptions to 
this rule, and page 64 for definitions.  

Visit wildlife.utah.gov/trailcams for more 
information about trail camera rule changes 
for 2022. 

Use of vehicle or aircraft
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-14

You may not use an airplane, drone or 
any other airborne vehicle or device, or any 
motorized terrestrial or aquatic vehicle (except 
a vessel)—including snowmobiles and other 
recreational vehicles—to take protected 
wildlife, including big game.

Also, you may not take protected wildlife 
that are being chased, harmed, harassed, 
rallied, herded, flushed, pursued or moved by 

Finding a skull with 
antlers or horns 
attached

If you find a skull with the antlers 
or horns still attached, it’s possible the 
animal was poached. Do NOT pick 
up or move the skull, or disturb 
any footprints or other evidence. 
Instead, we encourage you to take the 
following steps:

• Take photos of the skull from a 
couple of angles

• Pinpoint the location of the skull 
(preferably its GPS coordinates)

• Call or visit a Division office to 
report your find

• Provide key details in your report
The Division will send a conservation 

officer to investigate if the animal was 
poached. If it’s clear that the animal died 
of natural causes, we may allow you to 
keep your find.
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The only exception to this rule is if a mentor 

shares a permit and tag with a minor as part of 
the Hunter Mentoring program. For details on 
this program, please see the box on page 37.

Big game contests
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-16

You may not enter a contest or hold a 
contest that is based on big game or its parts 
and that offers cash or prizes totaling more than 
$500.

Tagging, transporting 
and exporting big 
game
Tagging requirements
Utah Code § 23-20-30 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-17

After you’ve taken a big game animal, you 
must tag the animal before moving the carcass 
or leaving the site of the kill. 

To tag a big game animal, completely 
detach the tag from your big game permit 
and completely remove the three notches that 
indicate the date the animal was taken and 
the sex of the animal. Then, attach the tag to 
the animal so that the tag remains securely 
fastened and visible. 

You may not remove more than one notch 
indicating the date or sex, or tag more than 
one animal, using the same tag. Also, you may 
not hunt or pursue big game after any of the 
notches have been removed from the tag or the 
tag has been detached from your permit.

Your tag must remain with the largest por-
tion of the animal’s meat until all of the meat 
has been eaten.

Transporting big game 
within Utah
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-18

You must obey the following rules to 
transport big game in Utah:

• The head or sex organs of the animal 
you’ve taken must remain attached to the 
largest portion of its carcass.

an aircraft or any other vehicle or transporta-
tion device.

In addition, you may not use any type 
of aircraft—from 48 hours before any big 
game hunt begins in the area where you are 
flying through 48 hours after any big game 
hunting season ends in the area where you are 
flying—to locate, or attempt to observe or 
locate, any protected wildlife.

The provisions of this section do not apply 
to the operation of an aircraft, drone or other 
airborne vehicle or device used for the pur-
poses of transporting hunters, equipment or 
legally harvested wildlife, provided the aircraft 
takes off and lands only from an improved 
airstrip, where there is no attempt or intent to 
locate protected wildlife.

Hunters who are transported by aircraft 
into an area may not hunt protected wildlife 
until the following day.

For the purposes of this section, “improved 
airstrip” means a take-off and landing area 
with a graded or otherwise mechanically 
improved surface free of barriers or other 
hazards that is traditionally used by pilots for 
the purposes of air travel.

Use of dogs
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-15

Dogs may not be used to take, chase, harm 
or harass big game. You may, however, use one 
blood-trailing dog—controlled by leash—to 
track wounded animals and aid in recovery.  
You may only use the tracking dog within 72 
hours of shooting a big game animal and dur-
ing lawful hunting hours. 

Party hunting
Utah Code § 23-19-1 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-15

You may not take a big game animal for 
another person. For example, you cannot kill 
a big game animal, and then tag the animal 
with a tag that belongs to one of your hunting 
companions. This practice is called “party hunt-
ing,” and it’s illegal. 

• If you take an elk on a spike bull unit, 
the antlers must remain attached to 
the animal’s skull plate, and you must 
transport the skull plate and antlers with 
the carcass.

• You must accompany the carcass of 
any big game animal you’ve harvested, 
and you must have a valid permit that 
corresponds to the tag that’s attached to 
the carcass.

There is one exception to this rule: you 
may transport a big game animal you did 
not take if you obtain a shipping permit or a 
disposal receipt from the Division, or you have 
a donation slip. You may not donate big game 
in the field.

For more information, please see Donating 
big game on page 53. 

Transporting big game 
out of Utah
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-19

You may transport big game or its parts 
out of Utah if you accompany the big game 
animal you harvested and you have a valid per-
mit that corresponds to the tag on the animal. 
The tag must be attached to the largest por-
tion of the carcass.

If you didn’t harvest the animal, you must 
obtain a shipping permit from the Division be-
fore taking the animal or its parts out of Utah.

Bringing big game into 
Utah
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-42

Reminder: It is unlawful to import dead 
elk, moose, mule deer or white-tailed deer—
or their parts—from any state or province that 
has deer or elk diagnosed with chronic wasting 
disease, except the following portions of the 
carcass:

• Meat that is cut and wrapped, either 
commercially or privately

• Quarters or other portions of meat (no 
part of the spinal column or head may be 
attached to the meat)

• Meat that is boned out
• Hides with no heads attached
• Skulls with antlers attached, so long as 

all brain matter and spinal column mate-
rial is removed

• Antlers with no meat or tissue attached
• Upper canine teeth (also known as 

buglers, whistlers or ivories)
• Finished taxidermy heads

You can learn which areas in North 
America have been diagnosed with chronic 
wasting disease (CWD) by visiting wildlife.
utah.gov/cwd or any Division office.

If you’re not a resident of Utah, you can 
transport harvested elk, mule deer and 
white-tailed deer from areas that have CWD. 
However, you may not leave any part of the 
harvested animal in Utah, and you may not 
stay more than 24 hours in the state. In ad-
dition, your deer or elk may not be processed 
in Utah.

Possession and use of 
big game
Donating big game
Utah Code § 23-20-9 

The following are the only places you may 
donate, or give, a big game animal or its parts 
to another person:

• The residence of the donor
• The residence of the recipient
• A meat locker
• A storage plant
• A meat-processing facility 

A written statement of donation must be 
kept with the animal or its parts. The state-
ment must show:

• The number and species of the wildlife 
or parts donated

• The date of donation
• The permit number of the donor 
• The signature of the donor

There is one exception to these rules. You 
may donate the hide of a big game animal to 
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game may be bought or sold from Aug. 1 
through Jan. 31.

• Inedible byproducts of legally possessed 
big game—except for hides, antlers and 
horns—may be bought or sold any time 
of the year.

• Tanned hides of legally taken big game 
may be bought or sold any time of the 
year.

• Shed antlers and horns may be bought or 
sold any time of the year.

• Protected wildlife that the Division 
obtains may be sold or donated by the 
Division or its agents (usually Utah State 
Surplus) any time of the year. Also, 
you may purchase or receive protected 
wildlife from the Division any time of 
the year.

If you sell or buy antlers, heads, horns or 
untanned hides, you must keep a record that 
states all of the following information:

• The name and address of the person who 
harvested the animal

• The date you sold or bought the items
• The permit number of the person who 

harvested the animal

another person or organization at any location, 
and a donation slip is not required.

Waste of game
Utah Code § 23-20-8

You may not waste any big game animal 
or permit it to be wasted or spoiled. (Waste 
means to abandon a big game animal or allow 
it to spoil or be used in a manner not normally 
associated with its beneficial use. For example, 
using the meat as fertilizer or for trapping bait 
is not considered a beneficial use of the meat.) 

You must immediately kill any animal you 
wound and tag the animal. 

Purchasing or selling big 
game or its parts
Utah Code § 23-20-3 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-20

You may not buy, sell or offer, or possess for 
sale, barter, exchange or trade, any big game 
animal or its parts. The only exceptions are the 
following:

• Antlers, heads and horns of legally taken 
big game may be bought or sold from 
Feb. 1 through July 31.

• Untanned hides of legally taken big 

Utah hunters helping 
condors

Since 2012, more than 10,000 hunters 
have joined the Division in a voluntary 
program to help California condors survive 
in southern Utah. Condors, some of the 
world’s rarest and largest birds, feed on 
dead animals, including the remains of 
harvested game species—both large and 
small. Unfortunately, lead ammunition 
found in these remains can sicken and kill 
condors.

To keep condors from consuming lead as 
they scavenge game remains, the Division 
has partnered with The Peregrine Fund, the 

National Park Service, Tracy Aviary, the U.S. 
Forest Service and the U.S. Fish and Wildlife 
Service to reduce lead on the landscape. 
Together, we offer incentives for hunters to 
voluntarily use non-lead ammunition in the 
Zion hunt unit, where condors spend most 
of their time.

If you obtain a Zion unit big game 
permit for 2022, you will be eligible to 
obtain a $50 voucher for non-lead 
ammunition. We will email you details 
about how to obtain and redeem your free 
voucher. Watch for the email so you can 
get your non-lead ammunition as soon as 
possible. For more information, visit wildlife.
utah.gov/condors this summer.

There is one exception to this rule: scouting 
programs and other charitable organizations 
do not need to keep a transaction record if 
they’re using untanned hides.

Possession of antlers and 
horns
Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-21

You may possess antlers or horns—or 
parts of antlers or horns—that were obtained:

• From lawfully harvested big game
• By lawfully meeting the requirements 

listed in the previous section (i.e., Pur-
chasing or selling big game or its parts)

• From lawfully gathered antlers or horns 
shed by big game animals

You may gather shed antlers or horns—or 
parts of shed antlers or horns—statewide, but 
there are a couple of seasonal requirements. 

From Feb. 1 to April 15, you need an 
antler-gathering certificate on your person 
while collecting shed antlers or horns. You 
can obtain this certificate free of charge by 
visiting wildlife.utah.gov and completing an 
online education course. You do not need an 
antler-gathering certificate at any other time 
of the year.

Important: Do not trespass on closed 
areas or private lands to collect shed antlers 
or horns. 

“Shed antlers” are antlers that a big game 
animal has dropped naturally as part of its 
annual life cycle. Shed antlers have a rounded 
base that’s commonly called an antler button 
or burr.

A “shed horn” is the sheath from the horn 
of a pronghorn that the animal has dropped 
naturally as part of its annual life cycle. 
Pronghorn are the only big game animals that 
shed their horns.
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Bull elk means an elk with antlers longer 
than five inches.

Bull moose means a moose with antlers 
longer than its ears.

Cactus buck means a buck deer with velvet 
covering at least 50 percent of the antlers 
during the season dates established by the 
Wildlife Board for a cactus buck deer hunt.

Carcass means the dead body of an animal 
or its parts.

Certificate of registration means a docu-
ment issued under any rule or proclamation 
of the Wildlife Board granting authority to 
engage in activities not covered by a license, 
permit or tag.

CWMU means Cooperative Wildlife Manage-
ment Unit.

Domicile means the place:
• where an individual has a fixed perma-

nent home and principal establishment;
• to which the individual if absent, intends 

to return; and
• in which the individual and the  

individual’s family voluntarily reside, 
not for a special or temporary purpose, 
but with the intention of making a 
permanent home.

To create a new domicile an individual 
must:

• abandon the old domicile; and
• be able to prove that a new domicile has 

been established.

Any legal weapon means the weapons de-
scribed under Firearms and archery equipment 
on page 43.

Arrow quiver means a portable arrow case 
that completely encases all edges of the 
broadheads.

Bait means intentionally placing food 
or nutrient substances to manipulate the 
behavior of wildlife for the purpose of taking 
or attempting to take big game. Bait does not 
include:

• the use of salt, mineral blocks or 
other commonly used types of livestock 
supplements placed in the field by agri-
cultural producers for normal agricultural 
purposes; or

• standing crops, natural vegetation, har-
vested croplands or lands or areas where 
seeds or grains have been scattered 
solely as the result of a normal agricul-
tural planting, harvesting, post-harvest 
manipulation or normal soil-stabilization 
practice.

Baited area means all land within a 50-yard 
radius of the site where bait is placed, includ-
ing the site where bait is placed.

Big game means species of hoofed protected 
wildlife.

Buck deer means a deer with antlers longer 
than five inches.

Buck pronghorn means a pronghorn with 
horns longer than five inches.

DEFINITIONS
Utah Code § 23-13-2 and Utah Admin. Rule R657-5-2 & R657-37

The following definitions explain terms used in this guidebook. The 2022 Utah Big Game 
Application guidebook (published in December 2021) also contains definitions that focus 
on hunting, harvesting and possessing big game.  

management buck permits, handgun-archery-
muzzleloader-shotgun-only permits, conserva-
tion permits, expo permits, sportsman permits, 
CWMU permits and limited-entry landowner 
permits.

Night-vision device means anything that 
enhances visible and non-visible light and 
includes the use of night-vision devices, 
thermal-imaging devices, infrared-imaged de-
vices and other electronic devices that enhance 
the visible and non-visible light spectrum. Trail 
cameras are not a night-vision device. 

Nonresident means a person who does not 
qualify as a resident.

Once-in-a-lifetime hunt means any hunt 
that is identified as once-in-a-lifetime and 
listed in the hunt table of this guidebook,  
and that does not include general or limited-
entry hunts.

Once-in-a-lifetime permit means any 
permit obtained for a once-in-a-lifetime hunt 
by any means, including conservation permits, 
expo permits, sportsman permits, CWMU 
permits and limited-entry landowner permits.

Permit means a document, including a 
stamp, which grants authority to engage in 
specific activities under the Wildlife Resources 
Code or a rule or proclamation of the Wildlife 
Board.

Possession means actual or constructive 
possession.

Private lands means, for the purposes of 
this guidebook, any land owned in fee by an 
individual or legal entity, excluding the fol-
lowing types of lands: land owned by the 
state or federal government; land owned by a 
county or municipality; land owned by a Native 
American tribe; land enrolled in a Cooperative 
Wildlife Management Unit under R657-37; and 

Draw lock means a mechanical device 
used to hold and support the draw weight 
of a conventional or compound bow at any 
increment of draw, until released by the archer 
using a trigger mechanism and safety attached 
to the device.

Drone means an autonomously controlled, 
aerial vehicle of any size or configuration that 
is capable of controlled flight without a human 
pilot aboard.

Ewe means a female bighorn sheep or any 
bighorn sheep younger than one year of age.

Handgun-archery-muzzleloader-
shotgun-only hunt (HAMS hunt) means 
a limited-entry hunt with very specialized 
weapon requirements. Before you apply for 
one of these hunts, see page 22 or review 
R657-5-48 at wildlife.utah.gov to confirm 
whether the weapon you want to use is legal 
for the hunt.

Highway means the entire width between 
property lines of every way or place of any 
nature when any part of it is open to the use 
of the public as a matter of right for vehicular 
travel.

Hunter’s choice means either sex may be 
taken.

Hunting means to take or pursue a reptile, 
amphibian, bird or mammal by any means.

Limited-entry hunt means any hunt that 
is identified as limited-entry and listed in the 
hunt table of this guidebook, and that does not 
include general or once-in-a-lifetime hunts.

Limited-entry permit means any permit 
obtained for a limited-entry hunt by any 
means, including multi-season premium 
limited-entry permits, premium limited-entry 
permits, multi-season limited-entry permits, 
limited-entry permits, cactus buck permits, 
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A Utah resident license or permit is invalid 

if a resident license for hunting, fishing or trap-
ping is purchased in any other state or country. 

An individual DOES NOT qualify as a 
resident if he or she is an absentee landowner 
paying property tax on land in Utah. 

Sell means to offer or possess for sale, barter, 
exchange or trade, or the act of selling, barter-
ing, exchanging or trading.

Shed antlers are antlers that a big game 
animal has dropped naturally as part of its 
annual lifecycle. 

Shed horns are the sheaths from the horns 
of a pronghorn that the animal has dropped 
naturally as part of its annual lifecycle. Prong-
horn are the only big game animals that shed 
their horns.

Spike bull means a bull elk which has at least 
one antler beam with no branching above the 
ears. Branched means a projection on an antler 
longer than one inch, measured from its base 
to its tip.

Spoiled means impairment of the flesh of 
wildlife which renders it unfit for human 
consumption.

Tag means a card, label or other identification 
device issued for attachment to the carcass of 
protected wildlife.

Take means to:
• hunt, pursue, harass, catch, capture, 

possess, angle, seine, trap or kill any 
protected wildlife; or

• attempt any of the above actions. 

Trail camera means a device that is not held 
or manually operated by a person and is used 
to capture images, video, or location data of 
wildlife using heat, or motion to trigger the de-
vice. Trail cameras are not a night-vision device. 

land where public access for big game hunting 
has been secured. 

Qualifying minor means a Utah resident 
who is under 18 at the time of application for 
the Mentor Program and who is otherwise 
eligible to lawfully hunt.

Ram means a male desert bighorn sheep or 
Rocky Mountain bighorn sheep older than one 
year of age.

Resident means a person who has a 
domicile (fixed permanent home and principal 
establishment) in Utah for six consecutive 
months immediately preceding the purchase 
of a license or permit, AND DOES NOT claim 
residency for hunting, fishing or trapping in 
any other state or country.

An individual retains Utah residency if he 
or she leaves Utah to serve in the armed forces 
of the United States, or for religious or educa-
tional purposes, and does NOT claim residency 
for hunting, fishing or trapping in any other 
state or country.

Members of the armed forces of the United 
States and dependents are residents as of 
the date the member reports for duty under 
assigned orders in Utah, if:

• the member is NOT on temporary duty 
in Utah and does NOT claim residency for 
hunting, fishing or trapping in any other 
state or country. 

• the member presents a copy of his or her 
assignment orders to a Division office to 
verify the member’s qualification as a 
resident. 

A nonresident attending an institution of 
higher learning in Utah as a full-time student 
may qualify as a resident if the student has 
been present in Utah for 60 consecutive days 
immediately preceding the purchase of the 
license or permit and does NOT claim residency 
for hunting, fishing or trapping in any other 
state or country.

Vessel means every type of watercraft, other 
than a seaplane on the water, used or capable 
of being used as a means of transportation 
on water.

Waste means to abandon protected wildlife 
or to allow protected wildlife to spoil or to be 
used in a manner not normally associated with 
its beneficial use.

Wildlife document means a permit to hunt 
protected wildlife or Division-issued authoriza-
tion to share such a permit.

Youth means someone who is 17 years old or 
younger on July 31 of any given year. 
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